Vegetarian Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
This was a big hit on Thanksgiving. It went perfectly with a Tofurky. I was in a rush and did not read the reviews, so mine came out way too thick. I just added more spices and water until the consistency seemed right to me. Next time I’ll cut back on the oil and flour. The trick to a perfect gravy is to always have equal amounts of fat (oil or butter) and flour so be sure to cut both equally. I also allowed the flour to brown a little before adding the vegetable stock. I think that really adds to the flavor. I would say that the nutritional yeast is not necessary, but it helps a lot. For those who don't know, for some reason nutritional yeast + soy sauce = total goodness. You see that combination in a lot of vegetarian recipes. This will definitely be in my recipe box permanently with some doctoring. I think this recipe would adapt well, like using mushroom broth instead of vegetable. I’ll definitely try it again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
i can't believe how good this gravy is. last year i bought vegetarian mushroom gravy for thanksgiving and it was awful so this year i looked for a good recipe but this exceeded all of my expectations. i used half the oil because of other user comments and omitted the salt and added about 3/4 cup water because it was thick but it's the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
I'm not a vegetarian, but it had gotten down to the end of the month, and we didn't have any sausages for my standard sausage gravy. As a matter-of-fact, we didn't have a lot of things, so I had to make quite a few substitutions. Olive oil for the generic vegetable oil, no nutritional yeast, ordinary soy sauce, portabello mushroom broth for vegetable broth, no salt, and parsley, rather than sage. The result was extremely good, and I was pleasantly surprised. This is the sort of thing you can pull off without much effort, and I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
I made this gravy for Thanksgiving because I wanted a recipe that didn't require turkey drippings. It had a very good flavor, but after it sat on the table for about 10 minutes, that 1/2 cup of oil all started to pool up at the surface. I wanted to go stir the gravy every five minutes to make sure no one noticed. I think this is a good, sound gravy recipe and is probably an outstanding alternative if you're a vegetarian, but if you're not, take my advice: substitute the 1/2 cup of oil with the same amount of butter, and if you prefer, use chicken broth instead of vegetable broth. It will taste - and look - a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
This is a delicious and tangy vegetarian gravy. My mom and I have searched for years for a gravy that could stand up to the fat & meat based fare at Thanksgiving and this recipe definitely does it. Even the meat eaters at the table were impressed and asked for seconds! I added about 2/3 c. mushrooms, which I cooked with onions and garlic (this means that it needed to cook for several extra minutes to cook off some of the water released from the mushrooms). Wonderful gravy--most definitely a part of my permanent file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Garberville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2001
This gravy is absolutely amazing. I plan on serving it for Christmas instead of the traditional turkey gravy. It was a little thick so I added some water. I probably should have added more vegetable broth which is what I will be doing next time. It has such a hearty taste...simply wonderful! You will not be disappointed. I can't wait to see my mother in law's reaction because she's the type that can't believe you can make traditional gravy without having to use the fat drippings, etc...!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2001
It's hard to find vegetarian recipes that impress my non-veggie friends, but this is one that did! I did cut the oil down to 1 tbsp, without effecting the great flavour. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
This recipe was delicious! I used a half of an onion instead of a 1/3 cup, and added rosemary in place of the sage. I also omitted the salt and pepper because it tasted perfectly salty after combining everything else. I used Shari's organic vegetable broth, too. Can't wait to taste it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JILLITH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
WoW! I was looking for a good gravy for my tofurky because i hate the gravy it comes with and WOW, this is amazingly great! I actually had something today that i havent had since becoming a vegan........biscuits and gravy! And they were DeLiCioUs!!!!! Thank you for the GREAT recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Myrtle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
Made this for vegetarien friend for thanksgiving. Looked like gravy and tasted like gravy. I was very pleased with how it turned out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

How to Make Turkey Gravy

See how to make the perfect turkey gravy.

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States