Vegetarian Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This was really delicious! I used un-chicken broth instead of vegetable broth, omitted the salt and used poultry seasoning instead of sage because that's what I had on hand. Thank you for the wonderful addition to our Thanksgiving dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Made the recipe exactly as written and it was delicious! It was very rich and thick. The meat eaters we were feeding loved it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
My family insists on this gravy every Thanksgiving ---and we aren't even vegetarians!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Fabulous taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I left out onion but also added chopped portobello mushrooms... VELICIMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
The flavour of this gravy is absolutely delicious! I thoroughly enjoyed it! IT is however, EXTREMELY think. I always had to add water when I was reheating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvie Charette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Turned out very good with a couple of changes- used 1/3 cup of olive oil to 1/3 cup of flour, as some suggested doing so it wasn't too thick. Also cut the garlic down to about 3 large cloves, as 5 seemed like a lot, even though I love garlic, I have been known to ruin things with too much garlic! I increased the broth to about 4 cups, and decreased the soy sauce to 3 tbsp braggs as it seemed quite salty already with the broth. Added extra sage too, as well as about a 1/2 cup chopped mushrooms- yummy! Great consistency in the end. Was a blob of jelly the next day, but nothing a little water and heat couldn't fix. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
This gravy was great for my vegetarian daughter who hasn't had gravy for two years now. It tastes great, so much that I am eating myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
The first time I made this I had to add 3 more cups of broth because it was too thick. The second time I made this I cut the vegetable oil in half and made up for it with butter. Again I had to add 3 more cups of broth but both times it came out very tasty. I made this for my vegetarian wife but the whole family enjoyed it. I would imagine it will be our "go-to" gravy recipe from now on. Oh, and make sure you add the nutritional yeast. It really makes the flavor perfect. It was hard to find in my area but they carry it in bulk at Whole Foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pundragon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I tried to like this, I really did. I made it to go with poutine since I'm a vegetarian. I've made it twice and both times, even with subtle changes, I found it too thick and too oily. It doesn't reheat that well either. I think I will use a beef gravy recipe from now on and just use veggie broth instead. It's also super garlic-y and I'm not overly fond of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

How to Make Turkey Gravy

See how to make the perfect turkey gravy.

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States