Vegetarian Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
I have been looking for a good vegan gravy recipe, and I'm thrilled to have found this! I made a few changes based on my preferences and what I had on hand. First, I did not want chunky gravy, so I substituted 1 tsp onion powder and 1/4 tsp garlic powder for the fresh onion and garlic. Instead of using prepared vegetable broth, I diluted 2 rounded tsp of "Better Than Bouillon" vegetable base in 2 cups water. I discovered I was out of sage, so substituted savory. I also used half the amount of salt called for. The gravy quickly became too thick during cooking (I started with less oil than called for because I was not going to saute onion and garlic), so I added an additional cup of the water and veg base mixture and that worked out just fine. The gravy was rather salty when I tasted it by itself, but it was fine once we put it on our food. Next time I will further reduce the salt. With the ease of preparation, use of items I typically have on hand, and the authentic gravy taste, this vegan gravy was a very pleasant surprise! I am a BIG fan of gravy, so I will definitely be making this many times in the future. Thank you for posting a real winner of a recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
This stuff is amazing! My boyfriend (who is a voracious meat eater and gravy nut) thinks it tastes just like a good, rich turkey gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
Excellent! I did cut the oil in half and added some water but the outcome was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
My meat eaters loved this! I didn't have veggie stock so I made some quickly and it didn't take much extra work at all, just a bit of extra time. We added mushrooms for extra flavor. I haven't had gravy since I was a kid so thanks for the rush of memories this brought back. Also, it was the first time my son got to have gravy on his mashed potatoes! Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
was looking for vegan Gravy for my Tofu meatball and this one is just perfect sauce for it. Thank you ~!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I didn't have the nutritional yeast or the soy and it came out great! I threw in about 1/4 tsp corriander and about 1/2 tsp of Kitchen Bouquet. My carnivorous hubby even liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
This was delicious! I did find it a bit salty and I'm going to replace some of the soya sauce with red wine next time. I also went with 1/4 cup of oil and flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Woo hoo! Finally I don't have to buy that awful packaged stuff when I want gravy! I used this to make a vegetarian faux chicken pot pie DELISH~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I always use this recipe! It's super easy and fast and turns out just the right consistency. Non-vegetarians like it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
So amazingly good. Everyone who tasted it raved about it, and the meat eaters didn't realize it was vegetarian until I ate it, and even then, they were skeptical. Turned me on to nutritional yeast, which has become a staple in my pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

How to Make Turkey Gravy

See how to make the perfect turkey gravy.

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States