Vegetarian Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I made this to smother cheese biscuits with on a really cold day and it really hit the spot! I did not find the soy taste to be overpowering, but I used Bragg's Liquid Aminos in place of regular soy sauce, anyway. I only give this four stars because the thickness is too much- I will certainly be making this again but with less flour/more broth. Great vegetarian gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I've made this gravy twice over the holidays. It's a great alternative to meatie gravy that goes well with a slice of Tofurkey or turkey! The only tweak I made was I added 2 1/2 to 3 cups of veggie broth. (Personal preference for fluid gravy.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peanut

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
After reading other reviews, I left out the salt. I should have cut the soy sauce at least in half as it was still way too salty for me and had too much of a soy sauce flavor. Would be good with some mushrooms added in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I reduced the oil and flour to 1/4 cup. This tasted better than non-vegetarian gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Thank you for this recipe. My daughter and her boyfriend became vegetarians in early 2009. This recipe, plus a meatless-soyless turkey thing helped make it through the holidays. She is allergic to soy, but can have soy sauce because it's fermented (go figure). Thank you. It's a keeper and on the stove again this Christmas morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I liked it just as well as the perfectly executed turkey gravy we had at Thanksgiving. I made it so the vegetarian at the table would have something to smother all over his mashed potatoes and stuffing. I did add some mushrooms to the saute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
the gravy is awesome. I am giving it four stars rather than five because it got very thick after sitting out (had to keep adding olive oil) and I read another persons review and used butter.... Also the soy sauce was very promininent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I read all of the reviews and followed much of the advice instead of following the original recipe which I believe would have been quite thick and salty. Hence - the 3 star rating. I used 1/4 butter & 1/4 cup flour; minced the onion and 2 cloves of garlic and sauteed them with 2 minced button mushrooms; Found the ~4 tsp of nutrional yeast at a natural food store in bulk for 20 cents; Used only 2 T of soy sauce; omitted the salt - used fresh sage, lemon pepper and cayenne to taste; used 2 1/2 cups of veggie broth; It was fantastic! My carnivore husband really liked it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Update: Not sure what I did last time but I made this again and it was FANTASTIC. Maybe it was the broth I used, but this time I used some "no chicken" broth instead of vegetable and OMG...perfection. Used it on some mashed potatoes and vegan turkey cutlets. So yum! Old review: this was a last minute recipe for me and i thought it was only average. it just wasn't flavorful enough. i guess it's a good base, but if i make it again i will def season it differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terese The Novelist

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Delicious! This got great reviews from everyone on Thanksgiving. I halved the amount of oil called with apparently no ill effects. I didn't have light soy sauce so used regular and then omitted the salt. It was plenty salty with just the soy sauce and I was afraid it was too strong, but with mashed potatoes was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

How to Make Turkey Gravy

See how to make the perfect turkey gravy.

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States