Vegetarian Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I liked it just as well as the perfectly executed turkey gravy we had at Thanksgiving. I made it so the vegetarian at the table would have something to smother all over his mashed potatoes and stuffing. I did add some mushrooms to the saute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
the gravy is awesome. I am giving it four stars rather than five because it got very thick after sitting out (had to keep adding olive oil) and I read another persons review and used butter.... Also the soy sauce was very promininent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I read all of the reviews and followed much of the advice instead of following the original recipe which I believe would have been quite thick and salty. Hence - the 3 star rating. I used 1/4 butter & 1/4 cup flour; minced the onion and 2 cloves of garlic and sauteed them with 2 minced button mushrooms; Found the ~4 tsp of nutrional yeast at a natural food store in bulk for 20 cents; Used only 2 T of soy sauce; omitted the salt - used fresh sage, lemon pepper and cayenne to taste; used 2 1/2 cups of veggie broth; It was fantastic! My carnivore husband really liked it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Update: Not sure what I did last time but I made this again and it was FANTASTIC. Maybe it was the broth I used, but this time I used some "no chicken" broth instead of vegetable and OMG...perfection. Used it on some mashed potatoes and vegan turkey cutlets. So yum! Old review: this was a last minute recipe for me and i thought it was only average. it just wasn't flavorful enough. i guess it's a good base, but if i make it again i will def season it differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terese The Novelist

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Delicious! This got great reviews from everyone on Thanksgiving. I halved the amount of oil called with apparently no ill effects. I didn't have light soy sauce so used regular and then omitted the salt. It was plenty salty with just the soy sauce and I was afraid it was too strong, but with mashed potatoes was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
With Thanksgiving being only days away I had to find a good vegetarian gravy to go with my "turkey". I came across this recipe and decided to test it out today. I didn't have any nutritional yeast or sage so I made it without them. I also substituted olive oil for the vegetable oil, left out the salt and added a little more vegetable broth to thin it out some. The outcome was pretty darn good. It is a very rich gravy with an almost mushroomy flavor. My husband agreed and said it is the best vegetarian gravy he has ever had. The only issue I had with it is that it turns into a thick, sticky glob when refrigerated and you will definitely need to add more vegetable broth when you reheat the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Plainfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I was attempting to make gravy tonight.... well needless to say it was bland bec all I did was put butter, flour and broth together.. I looked at this recipe and I added in some garlic powder, onion powder and the soy sauce and it was awesome!!! This saved me!!!! Yum!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pixie2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Christiansted, Saint Croix, U. S. Virgin Islands
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Fabulous alternative to the carnivore's thanksgiving accoutrement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Magna, Utah, USA
Living In: Roosevelt, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Very flavorful and rich. I made it for thanksgiving and it was completely consumed despite the fact that I was the only vegetarian and there was meat based gravy available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
I used 1/4 cup of olive oil instead of half cup of vegetable oil. Also, I ran out of soy sauce, so I used two tablespoons of dark miso paste instead. I thought it looked unsightly with all of the onion chunks, so I pureed it before thickening - it turned out lovely!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

How to Make Turkey Gravy

See how to make the perfect turkey gravy.

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States