Vegetarian Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I am a vegetarian and have been on an endless trek to find a good veggie gravy. I was very excited to try this based on its good reviews but I was sooo disappointed. I tried incorporating the other reviewers tips - using butter instead of oil; cutting down both the butter and flour to 1/4 cup; omitting the salt due to using regular soya sauce... I'm a big garlic fan but was suspicious about 5 cloves, but, against my better judgement, I went ahead and threw them all in and MAN - it was WAAY too garlicy. And coming from me, that should tell you something. It probably didn't need more than 2 cloves. Even besides that, I thought it tasted a bit "funky". I may try to play around with this more in the future, but for now I'm back to my powdered organic veggie gravy packets I buy at the grocery store...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
I use a lot less oil than listed, because it tends to separate as it cools if you use the full amount. Still tastes great with less oil, though. I make this recipe every Thanksgiving, every time I make mashed potatoes, and when I want poutine. LOVE it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I was thoroughly impressed with how delicious this tasted. I halved the recipe because I was feeding a small amount of people and the measurements transferred well. I don't really think salt & pepper is necessary, though. And combination Italian seasoning worked just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
This was really tasty. Even my husband who is not at all a vegetarian thought it could compete with real gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
This gravy was amazing. Even my non-vegetarian husband raved about it. I didn't have any sage on hand so I used rosemary instead... tasted fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Absolutely delicious, could never tell it was even vegetarian! The only thing I would do is cut down on the oil, much to oily. Maybe cut it in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Best vegetarian gravy I've ever made. SO YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I LOVED this recipe! The only changes I made were to leave out the yeast because I couldn't find the right kind at the store, and I used butter instead of oil. Yes, as other reviews have said, it turned out really thick, but I like thick gravy, and the taste was DELICIOUS. My grocery store does not carry any plain vegetarian brown gravy, so I'm very happy to have found this recipe to use for my vegetarian husband. Thank you, Becky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I made this forever ago - for Thanksgiving. There seemed to be a slightly strange flavor, but it was my first vegetarian gravy - so that's to be expected. All in all it was pretty good and it was great over mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
This is the first veg gravy I've had that actually tastes good! Even my meat-eater husband liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

How to Make Turkey Gravy

See how to make the perfect turkey gravy.

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States