Vegetarian Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Wonderful! I added fresh chopped sage and used it as a vegetable pot pie filling. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenbridges
Home Town: Buford, Georgia, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Hard to believe this is vegetarian. It's delicious and tastes like the "real thing."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Perfect gravy. I've been a vegetarian for 25 years and this one is the best I've tried. I'm a careless sort of cook and don't measure carefully and I'm always surprised when something turns out well. This looks to be a fail-proof recipe. I did add more onions (because I didn't want to throw away the rest).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Delicious recipe! It was a huge hit with both my vegan and meat eating family members. I deviated from the recipe slightly and used potato water and bullion to make the broth with great results. I recommend using a little less soy sauce than the recipe suggests, but then I was using full soy, not light. Otherwise it was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This is a delicious gravy that we used as a sauce over egg noodles, addictive!! I did use one giant garlic instead of the 4 regular and 4 leaves of fresh sage instead of the dried. This is definitely one of my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Everyone loved this gravy at Thanksgiving. Has a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This gravy is the best vegetarian gravy I have ever tasted. We use this instead of the Tofurky gravy that comes in the box because this one is creamier and much more delicious! Definitely a staple in my cookbook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
What a surprise! The gravy is good! But the recipe calls for much too much flour as it thickens the gravy into a heavy mush. Also, I had no nutritional yeast and it didn't seem to make any difference. I'd do this again using less than 1/4 cup of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
We have been vegetarians for over 2 years now and this is my first time trying out a gravy--- this is by FAR the best gravy I have ever tasted--meat or otherwise--AMAZING. I suggest adding at least 1 more cup of water, though! I added 1/2 cup and it was still too thick, but delicious! I also added one pinch of rosemary. Other than that followed it to the tee. SO delicious. My husband and 3 year old also devoured it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This gravy was fantastic, I made it with Tofurkey for Thanksgiving, and it was a hit with everyone including the meat lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

How to Make Turkey Gravy

See how to make the perfect turkey gravy.

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States