Vegetarian Four Cheese Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
This is fantastic! I have never liked vegetarian lasagna and this can replace a meat one in my house any day. I had a lot of fresh veggies from the CSA (community supported agriculture) that I'm a part of so I made some additions to the recipe. I started by caramelizing half an onion sliced thin. Added a package of sliced baby bellas and chopped up one bunch fresh spinach. I roasted my eggplant 30 minutes in a 400 degree oven by first cubing it and sprinkling olive oil, minced garlic, salt and pepper on it and stirring it half way through. Then mixed the veggies together to be my veggie portion. I used home canned pumpkin and tomatoes in place of fresh and used no-boil noodles. I mixed my tomatoes in with the tomato sauce to make it spread easier. I also cut the feta down to 4 oz. It was the perfect portion. Note: If you want this dish to be truly vegetarian you need to find feta that does not have animal rennet in it which is the stomach lining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri O.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
quote from my husband, "most vegetarian lasagnas are missing something, however, this one has that umph the others lack" i used low fat feta and ricotta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
The adults in my family loved this recipe. My small children could take it or leave it. I used butternut squash instead of pumpkin and wished I had used more of it. It added a nice touch of sweetness. I made my own sauce from fresh tomatoes from my garden and it was fantastic. I would recommend having some extra sauce on hand to pour over individual slices as desired, especially for the leftovers. The consistency was perfect, not soupy at all, when first served. But I found it dry the next day. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April C.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Waukegan, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
This was sensational, although extremely fattening! Oh my, the grease was oozing. It is very rich and yummy. I did add some cream to my red sauce, used zucchini instead of eggplant, and canned pumpkin but didn't change anything else. It is a timely recipe to make, so definitely a treat. My family (8 of us) ate it all up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
It was pretty good. The 3 star rating was the time involved, even with all the short-cuts. The other part of the rating was the cost of the ingredients. I will say that I am probably biased bc I've had probably 15 different lasagnas, so my palate is kinda snobby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
Everyone gobbled this up. I used butternut squash instead of pumpkin. I really liked the fresh roasted tomatoes in it – but peeled them when they came out of the oven because I don’t care for the texture. The prep was a bit of work but the end result was delicious. Next time I will try some of the other reviewer suggestions such as adding spinach or using canned pumpkin to cut down on time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
I LOVE this recipe. It is so delicious and a great alternative to meat lasagna. I usually don't bother with the tomatoes- it makes the recipe a little more simple. Instead I just use some canned crushed tomatoes. I don't think they make the recipe that much better. Anyway, I really recommend adding this to your repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
Very tasty lasagna. The only problem I had was that I don't like charred eggplant. So I ended up under-cooking it and even after the 45 min baking, it was still hard. Make sure you cook it until tender during the grilling! Otherwise, it had a really nice combination of flavors and there were very few leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie_C_S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salida, Colorado, USA
Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
Wonderful! I usually substitute the eggplant with lots of fresh spinach. Everyone loves this recipe. Best to let it cool off a bit before serving- otherwise it tends to be runny. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
the first veggie lasagna that was enjoyed by all my family even my 5 year old picky eater loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

White Cheese Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated 3-cheese white lasagna.

American Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated beefy lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States