Vegetarian Four Cheese Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
We love this recipe. Substituting a can of pure pumpkin puree works perfectly for the roasted pumpkin, and substituting a can of plain stewed tomatoes (roughly chop before adding) for the fresh gives a great taste as well. The substitutions only pare down preparation time, yet still have great flavor. Excellent dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISSY7448

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Goshen, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
I love this recipe!!! I made it for a dinner party and it got RAVE reviews...a definate do-again!! For the pesto I used "The Best Pesto Ever" recipe which really was the best pesto ever. I will agree with others that the prep time does take longer than what it states in the recipe. Also, I used butternut squash rather than pumpkin. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seawillow

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
This was very yummy and gets 5 stars for the taste! The prep time is WAY off which I knew from other reviews. I spent at least 75 minutes in prep and a lot of work and that's why only 4 stars. I had pumpkin, tomatoes and eggplant from the garden and pesto from basil in the garden. I did salt the eggplant and let it sit for close to 30 minutes before frying it which was not in the directions. This recipe will definitely be a special occassion recipe in our house, but not a staple because of the work required but I may roast some extra pumpkin for the freezer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Career2HomeSchoolMom
Living In: Rolla, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
This was soooo good! I made it in order to use up some pasta sauce I had. I maybe did this the lazy way, since I just used canned pumpkin, and I added sundried tomatoes into the ricotta mixture instead of using fresh tomatoes. All my roommates loved it! I also made pasta using the "Basic Pasta" recipe from this website also. Overall, it was really easy, and very inexpensive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Delicious--A huge hit with my family and dinner guests. I baked the eggplant rounds on a cookie sheet at 425 for 15-20 minutes, which is healthier than frying. Next time I will make it with canned pumpkin, as the taste of fresh pumpkin is not worth the hard work of extracting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
This is fantastic! I have never liked vegetarian lasagna and this can replace a meat one in my house any day. I had a lot of fresh veggies from the CSA (community supported agriculture) that I'm a part of so I made some additions to the recipe. I started by caramelizing half an onion sliced thin. Added a package of sliced baby bellas and chopped up one bunch fresh spinach. I roasted my eggplant 30 minutes in a 400 degree oven by first cubing it and sprinkling olive oil, minced garlic, salt and pepper on it and stirring it half way through. Then mixed the veggies together to be my veggie portion. I used home canned pumpkin and tomatoes in place of fresh and used no-boil noodles. I mixed my tomatoes in with the tomato sauce to make it spread easier. I also cut the feta down to 4 oz. It was the perfect portion. Note: If you want this dish to be truly vegetarian you need to find feta that does not have animal rennet in it which is the stomach lining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri O.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
quote from my husband, "most vegetarian lasagnas are missing something, however, this one has that umph the others lack" i used low fat feta and ricotta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
The adults in my family loved this recipe. My small children could take it or leave it. I used butternut squash instead of pumpkin and wished I had used more of it. It added a nice touch of sweetness. I made my own sauce from fresh tomatoes from my garden and it was fantastic. I would recommend having some extra sauce on hand to pour over individual slices as desired, especially for the leftovers. The consistency was perfect, not soupy at all, when first served. But I found it dry the next day. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April C.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Waukegan, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
This was sensational, although extremely fattening! Oh my, the grease was oozing. It is very rich and yummy. I did add some cream to my red sauce, used zucchini instead of eggplant, and canned pumpkin but didn't change anything else. It is a timely recipe to make, so definitely a treat. My family (8 of us) ate it all up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
It was pretty good. The 3 star rating was the time involved, even with all the short-cuts. The other part of the rating was the cost of the ingredients. I will say that I am probably biased bc I've had probably 15 different lasagnas, so my palate is kinda snobby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

White Cheese Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated 3-cheese white lasagna.

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States