Vegetarian Four Cheese Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
The recipe itself is delicious, however, the author states the prep time at only 15 mins. If you include the peeling, dicing, grilling and roasting, the prep time easily advances to 1 hour. Some places carry frozen pumpkin, and if you use that, you may cut down your prep time. Also, I try to avoid all charred foods, so I didn't char the eggplant. It was still tender and delicious in the lasagna. The flavor/taste is five stars - prep time is three stars, so I compromised with a 4-star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Zimmerman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: New Albany, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
This was absolutely wonderful! My husband and ALL 5 kids (including 2-year old and 5-year old) loved it. The only changes I made were using butternut squash instead of pumpkin, and I added extra mozzarella & parmesan. It was a lot of prep work, but worth it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
This recipe was great! Pumpkins aren't in season so i used yellow squash instead and it was awesome. The eggplant and pesto really make this dish amazing. i'll make it again but next time might make it in two smaller dishes and freeze one since it's a lot of food for one person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Stewart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
Rave reviews every time I make this recipe. I simplify by using no boil lasagna noodles, canned pumpkin and tomatoes. Also cut pesto to 1/3 cup and use a jar of my favorite four-cheese pasta sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
This was really simple to make (aside from the time to cook). I didn't think the pumpking added much to it, or maybe it needs more than called for. However this was delicious even though I didn't have feta and used Pecorino instead. I recommend slicing the tomotoes after cooking (or before) because they are too large otherwise. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
This was good, and a nice change from the traditional lasagna. I like it better than the typical white-sauce vegetarian style lasagna. I used lowfat cheeses to make it a bit lighter. I was disappointed that the pumpkin did not seem to add much. All in all, it was good, but not outstanding, esp considering the cost of ingredients and preparation time involved. Not sure if I'll make this again or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
It was a great recipe, but I would recommend salting your eggplant and allowing them to sit for 30 min prior to preparing this mea. It will take the bitterness out of the eggplant. Family really enjoyed this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
Wonderful rich flavour! I didn't have any eggplant so substituted sliced zucchini which I threw in with the pumpkin halfway through the roasting time. I also sliced my tomatoes instead of just halving them. Thanks Rosemary
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandton, Gauteng, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
This is fantastic! The only things I'd change is to use a bit less pesto and use diced tomatoes intead of the halves. It also took me an hour to prepare it...but it was worth it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
I was soooo delighted with this recipe. I made it for Thankgiving without giving it a taste test & to my delight, everyone at the dinner said how lovely it was. Thanks for submitting :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

White Cheese Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated 3-cheese white lasagna.

American Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated beefy lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States