Vegetarian Four Cheese Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
This recipe was perfect! My husband is not a fan of feta or ricotta cheese but absolutely LOVED this recipe. I used yellow squash instead of pumpkin and it turned out great. Would not change this one otherwise. The pesto gives it great flavor. I went low-fat on all the cheeses, but no one could tell. GREAT recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
After reading the other reviews, I was expecting heaven on a plate. It wasn't quite THAT wonderful, but it was pretty good. I made a few adjustments. First, I accidentally bought diced tomato instead of sauce. So, I pureed the cans of diced tomato in the blender. It looked a little watery but after baking it was fine. Instead of halving the fresh tomato, I sliced them and roasted them like that. Also, I couldn't find fresh pasta sheets and just used traditional lasagna noodles. Finally, it would have taken more work but I wish I had made fresh pesto instead of buying it in the jar. It would have really enhanced the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
I was true to this recipe and have absollutely no complaints. I thought cooking the tomatoes in the oven before hand definitely upped the flavor factor. I was leary about the pumpkin, but after the first bite, I was in heaven! And the ten other people that I made it for were fighting over it! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
This was OK for my first veggie lasagna. I left out the pumpkin, but I thought the pesto was a nice touch and a good variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CulinaryCutie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
The recipe itself is delicious, however, the author states the prep time at only 15 mins. If you include the peeling, dicing, grilling and roasting, the prep time easily advances to 1 hour. Some places carry frozen pumpkin, and if you use that, you may cut down your prep time. Also, I try to avoid all charred foods, so I didn't char the eggplant. It was still tender and delicious in the lasagna. The flavor/taste is five stars - prep time is three stars, so I compromised with a 4-star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Zimmerman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: New Albany, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
This was absolutely wonderful! My husband and ALL 5 kids (including 2-year old and 5-year old) loved it. The only changes I made were using butternut squash instead of pumpkin, and I added extra mozzarella & parmesan. It was a lot of prep work, but worth it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
This recipe was great! Pumpkins aren't in season so i used yellow squash instead and it was awesome. The eggplant and pesto really make this dish amazing. i'll make it again but next time might make it in two smaller dishes and freeze one since it's a lot of food for one person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
Rave reviews every time I make this recipe. I simplify by using no boil lasagna noodles, canned pumpkin and tomatoes. Also cut pesto to 1/3 cup and use a jar of my favorite four-cheese pasta sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
This was really simple to make (aside from the time to cook). I didn't think the pumpking added much to it, or maybe it needs more than called for. However this was delicious even though I didn't have feta and used Pecorino instead. I recommend slicing the tomotoes after cooking (or before) because they are too large otherwise. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
This was good, and a nice change from the traditional lasagna. I like it better than the typical white-sauce vegetarian style lasagna. I used lowfat cheeses to make it a bit lighter. I was disappointed that the pumpkin did not seem to add much. All in all, it was good, but not outstanding, esp considering the cost of ingredients and preparation time involved. Not sure if I'll make this again or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

White Cheese Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated 3-cheese white lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States