Vegetarian Four Cheese Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
Outstanding veggie lasagna! added a few more veggies (string beans, zucinni, shreded carrots) that were barely steamed. Added bag of frozen chopped spinach, sauteed onions & garlic, and some red pepper flakes to Ricotta. Used Classico Mushroom & Olive jarred sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dick Panzica

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Floral Park, New York, USA
Living In: Penn Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
This was fantastic. My non veggie husband really liked it. I used cottage cheese instead of ricotta and two cups chopped fresh basil plus five cloves minced garlic instead of pesto. I also used one can pumpkin and oven roasted the eggplant. It was very soupy right out of oven but all lasagna tends to be - didn't have time to wait for it to cool and it was still awesome! My one year old dug it as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
This was a good and diffefrent lasagna. The pesto gives it a wonderful twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
When I first tasted it, I thought it was bland, but after a few bites, I was totally convinced. Unfortunately for me, this recipe is so high-calorie I will have to reserve it for special occasions until I figure out how to lighten it up! I used all low-fat cheeses and divided into 12 servings (rather than 8) but it still came out as 10 Weight Watcher's points per serving. I'm going to start with the suggestion of using fresh basil in place of the pesto (which was 30 points on its own!) and increasing the veggie-to-cheese ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
This was a great base for a veggie lasagne. I departed from my mother's recipe for traditional lasagne to make this, and I don't think my household appreciated it... But at any rate, I made some changes to this recipe. I used canned pumpkin instead of fresh (two cans was too much!), and added cremini mushrooms and artichoke hears (because I had them in the pantry). I roasted the eggplant, mushrooms, and tomatoes together before adding them. I will have to chop the veggies up even smaller next time for it to be perfect. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
Thank you so much for this recipe! This is one of the best things to come out of my kitchen ever! I used butternut squash instead of pumpkin because I couldn't find pumpkin. Plus, Trader Joe's sells the fresh squash already cut, so it saves on prep time. I also used a little less feta (6 oz pkg). I used Barilla no-boil lasagna, which worked great. It turned out so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
This is excellent! I made it for a party at work and had to send the recipes to tons of people! yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DBRICEN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
I hosted an autumn dinner party recently, and we have some vegetarian friends - so I gave this dish a try, it was a hit! Trust me, between the delicious cheeses and the eggplant, you won't miss the meat in this lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
My people loved it. I made lots of substitutions or additions (canned pumpkin, diced canned tomatoes, fresh basil instead of pesto, zucchini, japanese eggplant, cottage cheese instead of ricotta, omitted feta, used uncooked dried lasagna noodles) and it still turned out great! I browned the sliced zucchini and eggplant on a cookie sheet with some oil before I put them in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
Just delicious! Takes a bit of work but it's worth it! I used yams instead of pumpkin as someone suggested. A great way to get more veggies into the diet. To "lighten" it I used cottage cheese in place of ricotta. Doesn't sit quiet as heavy and it melts the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

White Cheese Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated 3-cheese white lasagna.

American Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated beefy lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States