Vegetarian Four Cheese Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
From a dedicated meat-eater, this was wonderful! I did use canned pumpkin, thickly sliced the tomato and allowed the eggplant to sweat before cooking. I froze the leftovers and took them to work and it was even better. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
i made this for a party & it was a huge hit! i used canned pumpkin, left out the tomatoes (birthday boy doesnt like them), roasted the eggplant in a 400 degree oven for 30-40 min & added mushrooms & onions to the eggplant. next time i am going to use the ricotta filling as a raviolo or mannicotti filling, it was SOO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Living In: Mount Holly, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
OK- We picked out the eggplant- I guess we're not fans. Other than that, the dish was rich and tasty. I did sautee the eggplant (diced) with a diced sweet potatoe -which was VERY good in it and and onion. Maybe roasting the eggplant would have been better, but I believe this is the first time I ever cooked eggplant. DH, 3 kids and I picked it out. We had an extra teenager over, who is VERY picky- no veggies- and she LOVED it! Go figure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
I'm trying the vegetarian thing for a month to see wether or not I like it. With recipies like this it makes the veg thing rock! This recipe is simple to make for "guys" starting out on the cooking thing. I made this for my wife and she loved it. Next time I make it I'll add portobello mushrooms and onions. The baked tomatoes aren't really needed and tends to make it more soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Chatan, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
Utterly delicious, but I gave it a four because it's so much work. It took me hours, even though I did quite a bit of work ahead of time. The next time I make this, I'm going to double and freeze it. I used this to clean out my fridge. I used half of a squash and a sweet potato. I like this combo, it added a hint of sweetness and some creaminess to the ricotta mixture. I used my homemade tomato sauce, which runs to very spicy, so it was a nice balance between the two tastes. Next time, I won't even bother with dicing, I'll just bake the squash, mash it, and add it to the ricotta. The pesto is a great idea. It adds SO much flavor to the ricotta. Sure, it's high fat, but it's lasagne! Splurge a little. The only other thing I did differently was salt my eggplants and let them sweat for a while. Then, I dipped my eggplant slices in egg, then breadcrumbs, and baked them for a few minutes on each side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oberlin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
Outstanding veggie lasagna! added a few more veggies (string beans, zucinni, shreded carrots) that were barely steamed. Added bag of frozen chopped spinach, sauteed onions & garlic, and some red pepper flakes to Ricotta. Used Classico Mushroom & Olive jarred sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dick P.

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Floral Park, New York, USA
Living In: Penn Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
This was fantastic. My non veggie husband really liked it. I used cottage cheese instead of ricotta and two cups chopped fresh basil plus five cloves minced garlic instead of pesto. I also used one can pumpkin and oven roasted the eggplant. It was very soupy right out of oven but all lasagna tends to be - didn't have time to wait for it to cool and it was still awesome! My one year old dug it as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
This was a good and diffefrent lasagna. The pesto gives it a wonderful twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
When I first tasted it, I thought it was bland, but after a few bites, I was totally convinced. Unfortunately for me, this recipe is so high-calorie I will have to reserve it for special occasions until I figure out how to lighten it up! I used all low-fat cheeses and divided into 12 servings (rather than 8) but it still came out as 10 Weight Watcher's points per serving. I'm going to start with the suggestion of using fresh basil in place of the pesto (which was 30 points on its own!) and increasing the veggie-to-cheese ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
This was a great base for a veggie lasagne. I departed from my mother's recipe for traditional lasagne to make this, and I don't think my household appreciated it... But at any rate, I made some changes to this recipe. I used canned pumpkin instead of fresh (two cans was too much!), and added cremini mushrooms and artichoke hears (because I had them in the pantry). I roasted the eggplant, mushrooms, and tomatoes together before adding them. I will have to chop the veggies up even smaller next time for it to be perfect. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

White Cheese Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated 3-cheese white lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States