Vegetarian Four Cheese Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Wow, this recipe is great. It was the first lasagna that I ever made and it turned out great. I made the pesto myself with fresh basil and cilantro. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
- used 30 oz can of pumpkin instead of roasting the veggie - since tomato isn't in season, used 2 cans of "fire-roasted tomato" found near the diced tomato w/out the juice in the cans - use the lasagna noodles that you just cook with the whole she-bang, no need for extra work - you can prepare the whole thing the day before. Cook for 25 minutes with foil on top (w/ a few holes to vent) and another 20 with foil off (to brown). Let it sit 20 minutes to set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Steelton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oreland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
a great way to use pumpkin, but all that cheese felt a little unhealthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Very tasty! I used canned pumpkin, drained can of tomatoes, and substituted a mix of mushrooms/onions/and peppers that I stir-fried for the eggplant (can't convince the rest of the family to eat eggplant even though I think it would have been great). Was pretty easy to put together, great leftovers - definitely will make again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pointpixie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
This was very good. I took the advise of some who had made this previously and added cream to the tomato sauce. I also used butternut squash instead of pumpkin...delicious...I should have doubled the amount of squash. To me it made the lasagna distinctive. Also it needed more eggplant. I didn't use roasted tomatos because of the expense...I hope it wasn't a mistake. Overall, the dish was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleburne, Texas, USA
Living In: Burleson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
Great recipe but had to fix a few things:"fresh pasta shhets"> I used 9 lasagna noodles cooked 7 min.Used fresh basil in place of pesto.Omitted tomatoes & used asparagus I blanched first.Used more sauce,28 OZ can tomato puree/half jar spaghetti sauce.Instaed of fresh parm.cheese used 4 OZ Italian blend shredded cheese.Think this is the best lasagna I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEYSOLA

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I thought that I would mess this up for sure, but it came out great. I only put in 5 oz of feta and I added a little more eggplant and mozzerella. The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thelastrabbit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
10 stars! I actually used kabocha squash and used extra to take the place of the eggplant. Even with wholewheat pasta it was YUM YUM YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
This recipe was a big hit for Thanksgiving. Works nicely as a vegetarian entree, and the meat eaters can have some as a side dish. Was also very tasty for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
Wow. This was soooo good! I love squash and pumpkin, and am always looking for creative ways to prepare them. I made a few small changes, but for the most part, didn't deviate too much from the recipe. Instead of pumpkin, I used butternut squash, and mashed it slightly after roasting in a bit of butter. Instead of just feta, I used a mix of feta and crumbled goat cheese. I also added (as other reviewers did) a layer of caramelized onions and sliced baby bella mushrooms. I did double the sauce, which I am glad I did because my ricotta mix was a bit dry and I was worried that the no-boil lasagna noodles I used wouldn't soften properly without more liquid. For the sauce, I made a tomato cream sauce, because I felt that it went better with the sweet flavor of the squash. The last slight change I made was to wrap my pesto in lots of paper towels and squeeze the you-know-what out of it, which got rid of all that extra oil (probably why my ricotta mix was a bit dry). The lasagna reheated really well the next day (might have been even better!). Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RPCOOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Greenbelt, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

White Cheese Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated 3-cheese white lasagna.

American Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated beefy lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States