Vegetarian Four Cheese Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Very good! I used fire roasted diced tomatoes and canned pumpkin instead of the called for ingredients and it was delicious and easy to make. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I used sweet potatoes instead of pumpkin and zucchini instead of eggplant. The overall taste is very pleasant..a hint of sweetness. I love the roasted tomatoes as a layer. Very good. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mpls curly girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
This tasted nice, but there was way too much pesto. Use half or less of the recommended amount. I also used sweet potatoes instead of pumpkin, but remember it takes about double the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
This is my favorite lasagna recipe, and I've been making it for years. I rarely can get fresh pumpkin, so I use butternut squash instead. I like my noodle layers to completely cover the layer below them, so I use three noodles per layer rather than two. Sometimes I add some sauteed chopped onions to the tomato layer. My "improvement" to this recipe is to cut the cooked tomatoes and eggplant slices into bite-size pieces as I layer them into the casserole. I don't like huge chunks of veggies on my fork, because then that bite does not include the other flavors of cheese and noodle. With the smaller pieces of vegetables, every bite of the casserole includes the veggies and the sauce and the cheeses and the noodle. Yum! It also makes the lasagna neater to cut and serve. My kids have moved out, but whenever they hear that I'm making this recipe, they beg me to make a pan for them. So, I usually make several pans at once. I made six pans last weekend. However, I only tripled the ingredients, rather than multiplying by 6, and used smaller baking pans. (Note: I use three noodles per layer rather than the two which the recipe calls for.) So, each pan holds four or five servings, rather than 8. That works better for us, and the fully assembled dish freezes beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I was looking around online for a good recipe for vegetarian lasagna and came across this one. I had never made it before so I wanted some guidance. This was a good base recipe (hence only 4 stars since I made some changes to it). It turned out great for my first try. The only negative I have is that I will say that prep time is way longer than what is listed on this recipe-I will definitely not be making this one during the week. I substituted butternut squash for the pumpkin, and added spinach, baby portabella mushrooms, onion, and garlic; as well as cottage cheese and cheddar cheese (both fat-free) and whole wheat noodles. Next time I think i'll try a few shortcuts like buying the vegetables already chopped, frozen chopped spinach, fire-roasted canned tomatoes, & no cook noodles to see if I can cut down on prep time or get someone to help with the prep. I might also use a little more sauce for that top layer. Good recipe though- thanks for putting this online!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
This recipe is fantastic. I have made it twice and it barely lasts 2 days. Regarding a couple of the other comments here: I fried the eggplant (cut 1/4 inch thick as the recipe specifies) with NO OIL. If you add oil then the eggplant will get soggy and it will destroy the texture. I fried them for about 8 minutes on each side. I also substituted butternut squash for pumpkin. As another reviewer mentioned, you can buy it pre-cut from trader Joes or dice it yourself. I had to bake them in the oven for longer than the recipe states to get the consistency I wanted (about 45 minutes.) I do not suggest using canned pumpkin. Part of what makes this recipe so flavorful is the ricotta/feta/pesto mixture. I used french feta (as it is sweeter) and high quality pine-nut pesto. I made sure not to use any pesto with lemon in it. And lastly I used heirloom tomatoes (as it is tomato season right now.) You will need to wait for the juices to run out after baking the tomatoes but high quality sweet tomatoes really make a difference here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
A keeper!! Everybody went back for seconds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
HOLY COW! AMAZING! I used butternut squash in place of the pumpkin. BEST lasagna ever!!! Next time I might try subbing spinach for the eggplant and add some caramelized onions, just to change it up, but it's perfect the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Delicious. All the cheese makes these so yummy.I added a layer of cottage cheese too because my Gma used to do it and it is delicious. My kids really enjoyed it. I used a veggie mixture of zucchini, squash, broccoli, mushrooms, onion and garlic. I just used regular noodles, and boiled them to al dente before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coconutheather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Very tasty, make sure pumpkin is cooked through before adding to lasagna. Next time I'd dice all the veggies a bit smaller but otherwise this was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

White Cheese Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated 3-cheese white lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States