Vegetarian Four Cheese Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Used squash instead of eggplant, and it was very tasty! Will make this one again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
The only bad thing I can say about this recipe is it is time consuming - you have to chop/peel/cook the pumpkin, eggplant and tomatoes to even get started. That said it's all worth it. This is absolutely delicious. I make it every fall at pumpking harvest time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Orchard Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Wow! So good! This was the first time I've ever made a lasagna and I thought it was so easy and really pretty quick. I am not a vegetarian but don't always need meat to make me feel like I've had a meal so this was great! I've also never had eggplant before making this and it was delicious!! I couldn't find fresh pumpkin so just got a can of 100% pumpkin. Don't like tomatoes so I used 2 cans of tomato sauce (total) instead. Also added sautéed onions bc no lasagna is complete without onions. Other than those changes I kept everything the same. Had it for dinner last night and lunch again today. Even better today! I froze half of it so I'm hoping it tastes just as good when thawed. Someone said it was too expensive to make but it feeds a lot of people or makes many meals. Also I didn't think it was that expensive, only the cheeses were costly. Thanks so much for the great recipe. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abower1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
This is really good! The ricotta cheese and pesto mixture really made it for me. I did add carmelized onions and replaced the pumpkin with acorn squash. To make this five stars I would add more tomato sauce and add something for spice (crushed red pepper?).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Very good! I used fire roasted diced tomatoes and canned pumpkin instead of the called for ingredients and it was delicious and easy to make. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daydreams123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I used sweet potatoes instead of pumpkin and zucchini instead of eggplant. The overall taste is very pleasant..a hint of sweetness. I love the roasted tomatoes as a layer. Very good. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mpls curly girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
This tasted nice, but there was way too much pesto. Use half or less of the recommended amount. I also used sweet potatoes instead of pumpkin, but remember it takes about double the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
This is my favorite lasagna recipe, and I've been making it for years. I rarely can get fresh pumpkin, so I use butternut squash instead. I like my noodle layers to completely cover the layer below them, so I use three noodles per layer rather than two. Sometimes I add some sauteed chopped onions to the tomato layer. My "improvement" to this recipe is to cut the cooked tomatoes and eggplant slices into bite-size pieces as I layer them into the casserole. I don't like huge chunks of veggies on my fork, because then that bite does not include the other flavors of cheese and noodle. With the smaller pieces of vegetables, every bite of the casserole includes the veggies and the sauce and the cheeses and the noodle. Yum! It also makes the lasagna neater to cut and serve. My kids have moved out, but whenever they hear that I'm making this recipe, they beg me to make a pan for them. So, I usually make several pans at once. I made six pans last weekend. However, I only tripled the ingredients, rather than multiplying by 6, and used smaller baking pans. (Note: I use three noodles per layer rather than the two which the recipe calls for.) So, each pan holds four or five servings, rather than 8. That works better for us, and the fully assembled dish freezes beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I was looking around online for a good recipe for vegetarian lasagna and came across this one. I had never made it before so I wanted some guidance. This was a good base recipe (hence only 4 stars since I made some changes to it). It turned out great for my first try. The only negative I have is that I will say that prep time is way longer than what is listed on this recipe-I will definitely not be making this one during the week. I substituted butternut squash for the pumpkin, and added spinach, baby portabella mushrooms, onion, and garlic; as well as cottage cheese and cheddar cheese (both fat-free) and whole wheat noodles. Next time I think i'll try a few shortcuts like buying the vegetables already chopped, frozen chopped spinach, fire-roasted canned tomatoes, & no cook noodles to see if I can cut down on prep time or get someone to help with the prep. I might also use a little more sauce for that top layer. Good recipe though- thanks for putting this online!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
This recipe is fantastic. I have made it twice and it barely lasts 2 days. Regarding a couple of the other comments here: I fried the eggplant (cut 1/4 inch thick as the recipe specifies) with NO OIL. If you add oil then the eggplant will get soggy and it will destroy the texture. I fried them for about 8 minutes on each side. I also substituted butternut squash for pumpkin. As another reviewer mentioned, you can buy it pre-cut from trader Joes or dice it yourself. I had to bake them in the oven for longer than the recipe states to get the consistency I wanted (about 45 minutes.) I do not suggest using canned pumpkin. Part of what makes this recipe so flavorful is the ricotta/feta/pesto mixture. I used french feta (as it is sweeter) and high quality pine-nut pesto. I made sure not to use any pesto with lemon in it. And lastly I used heirloom tomatoes (as it is tomato season right now.) You will need to wait for the juices to run out after baking the tomatoes but high quality sweet tomatoes really make a difference here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

White Cheese Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated 3-cheese white lasagna.

American Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated beefy lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States