Vegetarian Cottage Cheese Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Made these as the veggie entree for Thanks giving dinner and the meat eaters devoured it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Tastes great! Tried another person's suggestion of adding a little shredded cheese and rolling in bread crumbs before frying. Awesome. Whole family liked this dish. Taste reminded me of a chicken fried steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
i added a little bit of sugar to the mix, sooooo good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
This was to wet to make patties so I added cruched crackers. Husband really liked it was ok to me. Too much Thyme for me as well. I will make this again but will have to change quite a few things, this is a decent base recipee for a meatless patty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I used a seperate dry ingredient recipe for the onion soup mix, cause I didn't have any and that was a bad idea. This recipe, however, iS delicious. I didn't fry first, but if you do- USE BREAD CRUMB.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy Shay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clearfield, Utah, USA
Living In: Tooele, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I REALLY enjoyed these! As did my husband. I was leary b/c I'm not a fan of cottage cheese, but you couldnt even tell! I only used 1/2 of the onion soup mix, and I'm glad I did, b/c the flavor was plenty strong enough. I followed another reviewer and baked for 10 minutes, added the mushroom soup and baked for another 20. It probably could have stayed in a little longer, but it was still good. They were very crumbly before being cooked. But this wasnt a big deal as I just sprinkled the breadcrumbs on both sides and plopped it into the pan. We will definitely make these again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCITTI45

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This patty is good. I agree with some other reviewers that next time I'd use only half the envelope of dry onion soup. Also, I followed someone's advice and didn't fry them - I formed the patty, dredged it in bread crumbs, then baked on a greased cookie sheet for about 20 minutes. I warmed the soup on the stove and spooned it over the patty on each plate. Also, I'd like to try a different sauce instead of the cream of mushroom soup -- between the dry onion soup mix, and the cream of onion soup, it had too much of a 'canned soup' feel. But overall, the patty itself is good and can be adjusted to suit different tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I'm being kind by giving this recipe 4 stars because I think my proportions were off somehow. I fried with the lite coating of breadcrumbs on top as suggested. Instead of then baking the patties with mushroom soup on top I baked them without the mushroom soup and added a homemade mushroom sauce when they came out of the oven. They were a bit dry and like I said, I think my proportions were off (too much oats?). Because I like the idea i'm going to try to make this again paying better attention to what i'm doing, and I will bake with the mushroom soup (or the sauce) on top. This meal DEFINITELY needed a green counterpoint ... definitely will be serving with a nice salad next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
This is such a tasty dish. I also had problems with the patties falling apart but will try the other suggestions. Anyway, they taste so good it doesn't matter that they looked bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I halved the recipe and skipped the cream of mushroom and ate it with ketchup and a side of spicy fries. i realized that i don't like the taste of thyme, but im not going to nitpick. i added a handful of shreaded cheese and i used beefy onion soup instead of original onion soup, because i was cooking for myself, and im not a vegetarian. i have lots of leftover, but i don't know if i'll use it because of the thyme, i'd rather start from scratch and omit it. My roommate is too picky to even try it, but i liked it very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasmine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sedan, Kansas, USA
Living In: Emporia, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States