Vegetarian Cottage Cheese Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
this was really good, if you let the mixture set for a bit,(10-15) the oatmeal will thicken and there is no need for the bread crumbs, but the crumbs add a nice touch too!! This is a great meat textured base andyou can do lotsa things with it!! Peppered gravy would be great over this also! Yum! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIKEYMAD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hammond, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Absolutely Awesome! This has became an once every week staple in my house. Very inexpensive and hearty like you're eating beef. I baked mine like meatloaf and it's honestly very hard to tell the difference from the real thing. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eels4peels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guyton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Rincon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
My husband (a flexitarian) and myself (a vegetarian) loved these! They have a very savory flavor, and hold up well in the frying pan. We have been enjoying them for the last few days, paired with various side dishes. These would even be good, sans mushroom soup, as a veggie alternative to a meat hamburger patty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by little temple
Home Town: Lexington, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
REALLY good. Love it with cream of celery soup as a gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DianeTampa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This tasted and felt surprisingly like a hamburger. I used the breading before frying which I believe helped with texture. The basic recipe is mild enough that you could easily add other seasonings to customize or put it on a bun and dress it like a burger. I felt full and healthy after munching on these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
My boyfriend was skeptical when I told him what I was making for dinner but loved them. He ended up eating 5! I just left out the thyme because I don't like it. Put the mix in the fridge before I formed the patties. Cheap, simple and delicious! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bremen, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This recipe is amazing, it's not dry at all but please make sure and really cover the patties in mushroom soup, if they are dry they are not as good. Also I splashed Frank's Red Hot on them and they were Amazing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I add parmesan cheese to the mix and dip in seasoned breadcrumbs before frying and serve them with homemade tartar sauce. We like them crispy so we don't bake in soup. One of my husband's favorite dinners!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
These are great burger/patties, however as this recipe is written IT IS NOT VEGETARIAN. Most onion soup mixes have animal products. Hunt down a vegetarian alternative. Also, I bake them (without the soup) then fry them to crisp them. Then I either use them as hamburger patty replacements or will pour a gravy over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Incredible! The texture is perfect and the flavor is wonderful. Did not have Thyme in my cabinet, so we excluded that ingredient and added fresh garlic. I can only imagine that they will be even more delicious with the Thyme AND we will be making these again soon with all the ingredients. Coating the patties with breadcrumbs is definitely suggested; it made them much easier to handle. Being a vegetarian and recently learning of the hexane use by most companies in production of their "burgers" made seeking out a healthier option necessary. Thank you for sharing this healthier and delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Land O Lakes, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States