Vegetarian Cottage Cheese Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Just made the cottage cheese patties I didn't have any wheat germ so replaced it with ground linseed. They were wonderful, ate them with cauliflower rice. Will make them often. Thank you for a great recipe. Please let me know if you can freeze them..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I was surprised how good these tasted. Not fantastic, but good for what they are. You would never know there's cottage cheese or oatmeal in these. The thyme seemed to over power the taste just a bit. Might cut the thyme in half next time. No need for salt. The onion soup mix added a lot of salt. Although cream of mushroom soup is good, I might try cream of chicken next time. My son loved them as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
this recipe has been a staple in my family for many years, but with a few variations: added 1/2 C chopped pecans or walnuts; use onion & garlic powder instead of the soup mix (sodium) and egg substitute. I also use an electric skillet with a little cooking spray and omit the baking altogether. For some added umph to the sauce, I've browned sliced mushrooms and some green onion before adding the soup; use 3/4 C skim or lactose free milk instead of water to make it more creamy, sprinkle some cayenne or worcester. My favorite way to eat these is the next day when they're cold on wheat bread with a little mayo and a dab of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Mckenzie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I really liked this recipe. I baked the patties rather than fried them. I also substituted a diced onion and 8 ounces of diced mushrooms. I sauteed the mushrooms and onions before adding them to the rest of the ingredients. This came out great. The preparation was very simple. I did not add the dried onion soup mix to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William Mihalo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angela Arbogast
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
This is a delicious recipe. I added some shredded cheese and rolled them in a bread crumbs before browning. I also changed from thyme to garlic powder, parsley, and black pepper. I did mess up my first few patties, be sure to squeeze them tight before browning. Then I baked them for 10 minutes without the soup, poured on the soup, and baked another 15. Turned out lovely! My omnivore partner absolutely devoured them up. I think next time I will double the recipe, add a sauteed onion, and turn it into a meatloaf. I've recommended this to several people already and I only made it last night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Arbogast

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I have made this many times and its always very good. They taste like "salsbury steak" so instead of the cream of mushroom soup, I use brown gravy and add a little red cooking wine, marjoram , garlic and ketchup to the gravy and pour over these after I cook them and bake them for about 10 minutes :) My husband still swears I make these with meat LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
GREAT recipe!!!!!!! And it was so easy to make! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Good consistency but tastes like stuffing. They're good but I would prefer a different flavor. Also, I agree with another reviewer that they're too salty with the soup and onion soup mix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Perfect the way it's written! His and loved it and so did the kids. Delicious! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucumcari, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I made these following the recipe but without the wheat germ (didn't have any and it said optional) and they seemed really runny to me. They didn't hold their shape very well but they taste delicious. Does the kind of cottage cheese matter? I used 4% small curd. Maybe I should have used large curd? Either way, they taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States