Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This chili is amazing! My husband didn't even miss the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
Great Chilli!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
This recipe is amazing! I've used this one countless times -- I modify it slightly, using only 1 small onion and sometimes I add a few dashes of Ground Red Pepper to spice it up a bit more. I cook the chili for about 45 minutes and then throw in the Boca Ground Burger and cook for another 15 minutes. I've passed this recipe along to several other friends who praise it as well. You'd never know that it was vegetarian - and SO HEALTHY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
Very good, I didn't put any onion, as I can't stand it, but I added some diced carrot, a couple of halved jalepenos pulled out at the end like bay leaves, and used half of the meat substitute. I had to add a bit of liquid a couple of times as it began to dry out, but it was no problem. Overall, delicious with a bit of cheese on top and served with baguette. 4.5 *
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
I made this for my meat-loving relatives and they loved it. They couldn't tell it wasn't meat. It was easy to make and very filling. I recommend it to everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Country Club Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
This recipe is wonderful! I am a college student and have an apartment with 3 other roomates, none of whom are vegetarian. They didn't believe me when I told them there was no meat in it! I did modify the recipe slightly using only 1 can of dark red kidney beans, and only two onions. I also added in long hot green peppers, and instead of plain diced tomatoes, I used diced tomatoes with green chiles. Very wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
Really good, and I didn't even add the "fake" burger. Perfect just with the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
Excellent recipe with a good "meaty" feel. I did change a few things. I chopped three onions, one green pepper and three crushed garlic cloves that I sauteed in a little olive oil (this would also cut down on the bitterness of the onion that one reviewer mentioned). I also added the crumbles half way through the simmer time as recommended by another reviewer. I froze up a bunch and will enjoy them for lunch for a while!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
This was really good! Added the meat about 1/2 way through like other reviewer suggested - perfect! Cooked some rice and put in the bowl before topping with chili and cheese and boy was it tasty! The crunchiness of the onions was really appealing so add as many as you like! Didn't have any bay leaves, but I didn't miss them! Will prepare again - easy and family loved too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
I liked this recipe a lot. I made it once as it says and it was a hit. I made it again for a dinner party and had some last minute guests call so I had to spread it for more people. I chopped two large yellow peppers and one red pepper and substituted fresh diced tomatoes for the canned so I used half the tomato juice. Also used santa fe flavored veggie patties. Turned out excellent, I'm going to keep experimenting with this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States