Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I used 7 large tomatoes in place of the canned tomatoes and tomato juice. I also added a few dashes of Tabasco sauce. Fabulous recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
I halved the recipe, but still used 2 cans of tomatoes. I subbed a can of chili beans for one of the cans of kidney beans. I also added 2 tsp of turmeric and a tsp of oregano. Turned out perfect! Tasted just like the chili I remember before becoming a vegetarian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Dough

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Great base recipe... I think everyone has their own opinion of how much they want to spice it up! Also left out the fake meat... sometimes that can gross out non-vegitarians.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Excellent recipe. I added just a touch of green and red bell peppers and cut the recipe in half. Waaaay too much food. There is NO way you would guess this is vegetarian. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura August

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moorpark, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catia2137
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
This chili was very good. I added more chili powder than called for, and the addition of about a 1/8 cup hot sauce. The spice level was perfect. Good when served with a light beer. I also made cornbread, a suprisingly nice combo. Also, I usually do not go for the veggie crumbles (when I have added them to other dishes- such as manicotti, they seem to alter the overall flavor and detract from the dish). They were great in this chili, and like other reviewers have said, I think most meat eaters would be fooled by the addition of these crumbles. Overall, very hearty, thick (but not too thick) and just very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catia2137

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
This is the first chili I've made that my husband has liked. I don't think I'll ever make another chili. But it makes a lot! I left out the crumbles and cut the beans down to 3 cans. Changed the tomato juice to bloody Mary mix, only used 1/2 of a large onion and added some green pepper and my husband added beef to his portion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe. I made it and my non-vegetarian family didn't even realize that they weren't eating meat. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This chili is amazing! My husband didn't even miss the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
Great Chilli!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
This recipe is amazing! I've used this one countless times -- I modify it slightly, using only 1 small onion and sometimes I add a few dashes of Ground Red Pepper to spice it up a bit more. I cook the chili for about 45 minutes and then throw in the Boca Ground Burger and cook for another 15 minutes. I've passed this recipe along to several other friends who praise it as well. You'd never know that it was vegetarian - and SO HEALTHY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States