Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
We couldn't find the "beaf" crumbles. So we bought boca burgers and crumbled them up. It made a BIG pot of really good chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Really good! No one even knew it was vegetarian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mistress Nicci

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Texas, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
I modified this recipe just a bit, and it was great. Before using the soy crumbles, I cooked it with some soy sauce and a dab of olive oil for about 3 minutes. I also used a bag of frozen chopped onions instead of fresh onions. I added: 1 can cannelini beans 1 can diced tomato 1 can tomato paste 2 teaspoons chili powder 1 cup frozen corn 1 green bell pepper This made the chili serve 10 and added a lot of color and flavor to it. I think jalepenos would be a good addition as well. Thanks for a great base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
Great recipe!! So yummy and so easy! I didn't use the crumbles, but i added 2 tomatoes, half a green pepper & a red pepper to the recipe and topped it off with cheese and a little sour cream...Sooo good! Plus lotsa leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tokyowannabe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I used 7 large tomatoes in place of the canned tomatoes and tomato juice. I also added a few dashes of Tabasco sauce. Fabulous recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
I halved the recipe, but still used 2 cans of tomatoes. I subbed a can of chili beans for one of the cans of kidney beans. I also added 2 tsp of turmeric and a tsp of oregano. Turned out perfect! Tasted just like the chili I remember before becoming a vegetarian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Dough

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Great base recipe... I think everyone has their own opinion of how much they want to spice it up! Also left out the fake meat... sometimes that can gross out non-vegitarians.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Excellent recipe. I added just a touch of green and red bell peppers and cut the recipe in half. Waaaay too much food. There is NO way you would guess this is vegetarian. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura August

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moorpark, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catia2137
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
This chili was very good. I added more chili powder than called for, and the addition of about a 1/8 cup hot sauce. The spice level was perfect. Good when served with a light beer. I also made cornbread, a suprisingly nice combo. Also, I usually do not go for the veggie crumbles (when I have added them to other dishes- such as manicotti, they seem to alter the overall flavor and detract from the dish). They were great in this chili, and like other reviewers have said, I think most meat eaters would be fooled by the addition of these crumbles. Overall, very hearty, thick (but not too thick) and just very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catia2137

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
This is the first chili I've made that my husband has liked. I don't think I'll ever make another chili. But it makes a lot! I left out the crumbles and cut the beans down to 3 cans. Changed the tomato juice to bloody Mary mix, only used 1/2 of a large onion and added some green pepper and my husband added beef to his portion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States