Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
This is my go to recipe! I omit the tomato juice and usually brown some stew meat. I up the cumin too. I usually leave out the meat crumbles for my vegan friends, they prefer it with just the beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
A simple basic recipe that allows for easy modifications. I added a spicy pepper, and sauteed the onions first with some fresh garlic. And I omitted the fake burger stuff. Then the game-changer: I added Worcestershire sauce (non-vegetarian). Ended up delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zach Maddock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nina72688
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
This recipe was delicious, but it makes a ton! I would estimate at least 16 X 1 cup servings. This is just me eyeballing it without measuring. I wound up freezing half of it which is future peace of mind for a rainy day. If I could adjust one thing, I would decrease the spiciness, but only by a tad for my palate. Everyone else in my family was OK with the spiciness level. I notice it gets spicier on day two after the flavors marinate overnight in the fridge, so something to keep in mind if you're cooking ahead for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
I just prepared this recipe for a gathering at my church as we do not use meat during the season of Lent. It was very well received. I did saute the onions prior to putting them in the stock pot. I also used tomatoes with onion, celery and bell pepper included for flavoring. Some worcestershire sauce helps to develop a meaty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Awesome! Only used 2 onions Also added 6 cloves of garlic and 3 small jalapeños diced with fire roasted chiles. This definitely added a kick! So yummy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This recipe serves as a great starting point. I prefer to make mine in the crockpot, using dried/soaked beans. For a non-soy option that adds meaty texture, I add finely chopped baby portobello mushrooms. Like other reviewers, I add chopped bell peppers (all colors work great) and fresh garlic, rather than garlic powder. Adding brown sugar and corn a nice variation. I add a half a cup of uncooked quinoa for the last 30 min of cooking time for added nutrition and texture. May need to add 1/2cup of water at this point if the liquid level low in crock. Leftovers can make "Chili Pie." Pour chili in rectangular (larger) casserole dish. Cover with layer of shredded cheese, then top with jiffy cornbread mix (prepare mix as directed on box). Bake at 350 until cornbread golden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
We loved this, Used chili beans, one large onion, dash of sriracha, ancho chili, hot and regular chili powders. Also added whole peeled organic tomatoes, diced tomatoes with green chilies, and sliced stewed tomatoes. The best chili ever. We won't use another chili recipe ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
This was really good. I dont like onions that much so I just used 1/2 white onion. I also halved the whole recipe and did not use Boca crumbles ( didn't miss them at all). Again, very good. Best vegetarian chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
I made this last night and... OH BOY!!! I did put my own twist however. Instead of meat substitute, I used two cans of chick peas pulsed in the food processor to look like ground beef. The rest is my little secret! It was so good that you could put a bowl of it on top of your head and slap yourself silly with your tongue trying to eat it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States