Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
This is my first review. A recipe has to REALLY knock my socks off and surprise me to illicit this type of response. I am not a vegetarian, which makes this review even more amazing. I loved loved loved this. Like, loved it in a way that I had to walk out of the kitchen because I was rapidly shoveling it into my mouth with a spoon and couldnt stop. It is like tuna or chicken salad but without the weird canned fish taste. I pretty much followed the recipe without actually measuring anything. Just a dump, stir and taste method. This will be a new staple in my lunch sandwich rotations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
This was amazing! My son doesn't like anything that looks creamy but he wouldn't stop asking for more! I added two chopped hard boiled eggs and spread it on toasted french bread. DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
This was pretty good, I think next time I'll switch it up a bit and omit the dill weed and season with curry and serve slightly warmed in the pita..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
GREAT RECIPE! It is nice to have a sandwich spread that doesn't have either eggs, or meat in it! I stuck to the recipe exactly, except I added about an extra 1/2 tbsp of mayo- It seemed a little dry to me. Toasted artisan rosemary bread piled the mix on top and finished it off with slices of tomato! Will definitely be continuing to make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I always adjust recipes to my taste. Less onion, not quite as much dill, etc. This is yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This was really good. I made a sandwich out of it one day and then took some tostitos to it the next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Absolutely delicious! Followed the recipe exactly and it's wonderful, as is. Will substitute tahini for the mayo next time and add garlic to see how that tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Very good flavor (I also added garlic as other reviewers did) but the texture was quite dry and crumbly. I didn't want to add additional mayo and up the calories, so perhaps it would be better using liquid from the can of chickpeas? Not sure if I will try it a second time or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
This is amazing. I added a little chili paste to spice it up a bit and ate with some rice crackers to keep it GF. Might knock the whole bowl off in one sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Yum! I stuck to the original flavor profile, using 1/3 of a large red onion and had a handful of carrot to a standard 15.5 oz. can of garbanzos. I gave a fine chop to the veggies in the blender and mashed the chick peas with a potato masher. This was a hit with my husband and I was pretty darn impressed. It's one of those "sum is greater than the parts" things. Although it looked a teensy dry, it tasted moist and I was glad I left well enough alone. I made sandwiches on whole wheat bread and my meat lovin' man stated he could eat these for lunch on a regular basis! I will use only 2-3 Tbsp. pulverized onion when I make this for my 3,6 & 7 year old grand kids, and will definately be cooking up my own dry beans next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 739) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Filling

This quick-and-easy sandwich spread is a great alternative to tuna salad.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Vegan Bean Taco Filling

See how to make a hearty, spicy bean filling for tacos and burritos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States