Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I really liked it. Changes I made: used green onions instead of regular onions, added more mayo and lemon juice and chopped everything in a food processor. I knew I was going to like it so I tripled the recipe. Will definitely be making it again :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ren Hall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Quick and tasty! Made this several times - I like the dill in it, but usually use half the celery and add a little garlic. Really nice with about a teaspoon of dijon mustard, too! Yummy filling for pita pockets with cucumbers and spinach, and great spread on crackers, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Pretty delicious, i would say it resembles egg salad a little more than tuna... so since i'm lacto/ ovo I added a couple chopped hard boiled eggs because i wanted to stretch it. I also played with it a little like i would when making egg or tuna salad and added half a green bell pepper i wanted to use up and some chopped green onions that were starting to wilt. Great basic idea and jumping off point to do what you like with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I used a food processor to mash the beans, placed in a bowl to mix in the other ingredients. I used 2 tablespoons of olive oil mayo, as suggested by another poster. I left the onion and celery a little larger than I normally would chop, which provided a nice crunch. I didn't have dill, so I made it without dill. I served it with baby spinach, ripe red tomatoes, salt & pepper, on a whole wheat pita. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe! So simple and so delicious! I will be making this on a regular basis now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This is a good recipe for vegans, I leave out the mayo and add more lemon along with the zest and a dash of curry. To make the canned chick peas easier to crush, freeze them. When thawed they smash much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
loved this! can't wait to make it again!! thanks for the post FISHLOVE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
So so good!! I made it with red onions cuz the recipe didn't state a choice. Don't care for dill, so I omitted it. Ate it all right out of the bowl, so I have no idea how much better it would be on a sandwich! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Excellent...added lots of crushed garlic and some Penzey's Black and Red pepper for kick. A bit of extra lemon as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Smail

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
What an awesome and healthier alternative to tuna salad or chicken salad. I added garlic and used green peppers instead of celery. Threw in a little bit of shiracha and used low fat mayo. YUM! Gets better as it sits in the fridge. Will definitely make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Very good, very easy, very flexible. I cut back on the onion as the taste was overpowering the dill. Otherwise, this is a great recipe and my teenagers like it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 739) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Filling

This quick-and-easy sandwich spread is a great alternative to tuna salad.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Vegan Bean Taco Filling

See how to make a hearty, spicy bean filling for tacos and burritos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States