Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Very easy, very tasty! Cheap too! Only thing I would suggest is to watch the onion amount.. adding too much can ruin it. I use a quarter of a medium/large onion. I used half for one batch, and it was too much and most of it sat in the fridge untouched. Putting chick peas in the food processor makes quick work of them. I usually make this the night before so all the flavors can meld nicely :) Try on it on a sandwich with cucumber slices and ripe avocado, spread on one side- SO yummy! Not bad with tortilla chips either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowEyes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I added some cayenne pepper to make it a little spicier and substituted tartar sauce for the mayonnaise. This is a perfect alternative to the usual chicken salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Discovery Bay, Saint Ann, Jamaica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Delicious. I used a couple cloves of garlic.I also put sliced tomato and some tzakiki dip on wheat pita. Thanks for the quick ,easy, healthy lunch idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
I'm a vegetarian who hasn't always been a vegetarian. I miss chicken salad sandwiches and this is going to make a fabulous replacement. I added a hard boiled egg because I couldn't resist and seasoned with garlic salt. I added the lemon juice a teaspoon at a time because one tablespoon seemed like a lot. I ended up using two teaspoons. I used a lot more mayo than called for. I think this can easily be altered to suit your mood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plattsburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Tolland, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Delicious. I used green onion and fresh dill because I had both on hand. I also finely chopped some dill pickles to add in- I love the bite that those give. I made it and served it last night on sandwiches for dinner, but it's actually better today after sitting overnight! Just ate the leftovers on some crackers for lunch. Easy, delicious vegetarian option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
This was awesome! I have to disagree with another comment that said it's like eating hummus. It's much more textured with chunks of garbanzo beans. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Benson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Pleasantly surprised. This was delicious! I only used about half of the dill and added and extra 1/2 tbsp. of mayo. Served it on toasted whole wheat bread with sliced cheddar cheese, lettuce and mustard. I will be making this again. My 2 year old kept asking for more bites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hobart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Delicious! This recipe makes a delicious alternative to tuna. Couldn't even tell the difference. I added garlic and cut the amount of onions in half. This will definitely become a staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
This is sooo good! I used green onions and added a little extra dill because I love dill! Instead of a wrap I used boston lettuce as a light lunch. This is my new go to for a quick lunch idea. A great alternative to canned tuna! Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
This recipe was amazing! I added and subtracted a few things to my liking but it was perfect! Add some diced avocado for a more creamy filling. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 684) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Filling

This quick-and-easy sandwich spread is a great alternative to tuna salad.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Vegan Bean Taco Filling

See how to make a hearty, spicy bean filling for tacos and burritos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States