Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Added in some mashed potato as well. basically tastes like a tuna salad! I think next time I will add sliced mushrooms and green onions with a bit less regular onion. Did not have dill weed but I added parsley for fun :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
This is absolutely delicious! Taste & consistency-wise, it is comparable to tuna or chicken salad - but BETTER! I had a hard time not eating the entire batch right out of the bowl, plain, right after I made it. The first time, I made it true to the recipe, and it was awesome. The second time, I decided to add a few things: one chopped hard-boiled egg, green onion instead of white, and about a tablespoon of pickle relish. For my personal preference, I prefer the one with the changes. I will say, my eight year old tried it, but did not care for this. My husband did not like it either, but this was fine - MORE FOR ME :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
This is amazing. I toasted some pita bread in the oven, then filled it with this, plus lettuce and feta cheese and it is definitely my new favorite lunch to make! I only used 1/4 of an onion because I felt that 1/2 would have been too overpowering. And I chopped up carrots too. So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slm89

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lemanuelthelazy
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
This is such a quick and delicious meal! I have been desperate for a vegetarian alternative to tuna salad, and let me tell you this hits the spot. I mashed the chickpeas with a potato smasher to make them extra squishy, and I noticed if it sits in the fridge for a day I have to add a little extra salt. This is a perfect emergency party snack for when you don't have much food in the house, because the only thing that you need to keep fresh is the celery. I served it open face on wheat toast with a little cheddar, but honestly it's just as good to shovel it down with a fork. I have to double the recipe because it doesn't last long. Thank you thank you thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
This needs a lot more seasoning, I think... But a good base recipe to add different stuff in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
absolutely awesome and easy to make. smooth and full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Delicious, easy and healthy. I used fewer onion because I'm not a huge raw onion fan. Also added some olive slices. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
The chickpea flavor was too overwhelming. But I'm not a vegetarian so maybe I was wanting it to still taste like chicken salad. But still glad I tried it, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Randolph, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Delicious!! Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by afrikamommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I'm not a big fan of Chicpeas but since I'm trying to eat healthier, I thought I'd give it a try and it was really good! I also added some spices and will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 718) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Filling

This quick-and-easy sandwich spread is a great alternative to tuna salad.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Vegan Bean Taco Filling

See how to make a hearty, spicy bean filling for tacos and burritos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States