Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Wow - what a great surprise! Fast & easy to make with ingredients on hand. Used a potato masher to mash up the beans. Super fast. Added mayo, chopped celery, dijon mustard, dill weed, dill relish and a hard boiled egg (just the white) - skipped the onion. Basically made it the same way as tuna or egg salad. Super yummy. Will make this again and again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
SLAMMIN!!!! I made this for a dinner meal (skeptical of the taste). Our son & I REALLY liked it!! I substituted fennel for celery, 2 green onions and 1/4 C of sour cream for mayonnaise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
This was a fresh, light sandwich filling akin to a tuna salad. Even my kids ate these sandwiches without a second thought. It is a nice base and you can easily customize it with veggies and toppings you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diana_bunni
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
So delicious! I added cucumbers and ate it in a whole wheat pita bread pouch with some tzatziki sauce it was perfect! Although i did take out the onions because i don't like raw onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Added in some mashed potato as well. basically tastes like a tuna salad! I think next time I will add sliced mushrooms and green onions with a bit less regular onion. Did not have dill weed but I added parsley for fun :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
This is absolutely delicious! Taste & consistency-wise, it is comparable to tuna or chicken salad - but BETTER! I had a hard time not eating the entire batch right out of the bowl, plain, right after I made it. The first time, I made it true to the recipe, and it was awesome. The second time, I decided to add a few things: one chopped hard-boiled egg, green onion instead of white, and about a tablespoon of pickle relish. For my personal preference, I prefer the one with the changes. I will say, my eight year old tried it, but did not care for this. My husband did not like it either, but this was fine - MORE FOR ME :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
This is amazing. I toasted some pita bread in the oven, then filled it with this, plus lettuce and feta cheese and it is definitely my new favorite lunch to make! I only used 1/4 of an onion because I felt that 1/2 would have been too overpowering. And I chopped up carrots too. So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slm89

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lemanuelthelazy
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
This is such a quick and delicious meal! I have been desperate for a vegetarian alternative to tuna salad, and let me tell you this hits the spot. I mashed the chickpeas with a potato smasher to make them extra squishy, and I noticed if it sits in the fridge for a day I have to add a little extra salt. This is a perfect emergency party snack for when you don't have much food in the house, because the only thing that you need to keep fresh is the celery. I served it open face on wheat toast with a little cheddar, but honestly it's just as good to shovel it down with a fork. I have to double the recipe because it doesn't last long. Thank you thank you thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
This needs a lot more seasoning, I think... But a good base recipe to add different stuff in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
absolutely awesome and easy to make. smooth and full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 742) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Filling

This quick-and-easy sandwich spread is a great alternative to tuna salad.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Vegan Bean Taco Filling

See how to make a hearty, spicy bean filling for tacos and burritos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States