Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
This is amazing. I added a little chili paste to spice it up a bit and ate with some rice crackers to keep it GF. Might knock the whole bowl off in one sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Yum! I stuck to the original flavor profile, using 1/3 of a large red onion and had a handful of carrot to a standard 15.5 oz. can of garbanzos. I gave a fine chop to the veggies in the blender and mashed the chick peas with a potato masher. This was a hit with my husband and I was pretty darn impressed. It's one of those "sum is greater than the parts" things. Although it looked a teensy dry, it tasted moist and I was glad I left well enough alone. I made sandwiches on whole wheat bread and my meat lovin' man stated he could eat these for lunch on a regular basis! I will use only 2-3 Tbsp. pulverized onion when I make this for my 3,6 & 7 year old grand kids, and will definately be cooking up my own dry beans next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
This is excellent. I can't wait for lunch tomorrow. Quick, easy, healthy, and versatile. Very nice! I added extra mayo because I found it a bit dry. I added nutritional yeast and some garlic because they do well with pretty much anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
This was pretty good. The only change I made was to make it VEGAN, so I used Veganaise instead of mayo. It's versatile, so next time I think I will try adding different veggies. I used this on spelt bread and it was tasty, and there was lots left over for the next lunch. It will probably be even better then once the dill absorbs into everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thePrairieMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Yum. So simple but yet fresh summer flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I like chickpeas, dill, tuna salad-type dishes...but I really didn't like this. I think that the texture of the chickpeas just didn't work in a dish like this for me. However, I think that the sauces/seasonings might be good if made with tuna instead (maybe I just wanted tuna salad in the first place!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I also added garlic, just as many others did before me. Another tasty thing to add is shredded carrots. So good and good for you! Solid vegetarian recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I added some Parmesan cheese and sweet relish after I tasted the original recipe. I used a hand-held pastry blender to mash the beans, worked perfectly. I will be making this again! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I really enjoyed this recipe. Quick, cool, fresh, and easy. Make sure you drain the chickpeas well or the spread will be a little watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Excellent. Was a big hit with the family. Used some Trader Joes Everyday Seasoning and no dill since my husband does not like dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 701) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Filling

This quick-and-easy sandwich spread is a great alternative to tuna salad.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Vegan Bean Taco Filling

See how to make a hearty, spicy bean filling for tacos and burritos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States