Vegetarian Chickpea Curry with Turnips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
YUM!! I used an entire turnip, and omitted the corn. Instead I used a large bunch of fresh spinach and 2 potatoes. I also put in some diced jalepeno for more spiciness. It was so healthful and yummy. I can't wait to make it again with different veggies. This is such a great recipe, thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
This was everything I hoped it would be. I doubled the recipe, soaked dry chick peas overnight, drained them, and cooked everything in the slow cooker with 3 cups of water added -- I'd suggest a cooking time of 6 hours if you try it this way. I've got another bag of dry chick peas in the pantry, and I know what I'll be making with it. Might add some potatoes and/or lentils next time, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Very simple and delicious. I used a can of petite diced tomatoes in place of sauce. I also doubled the veggies. My first time cooking turnips and this recipe will be made again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lichi66

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
I had lots of leftover Turnips from my winter crop so gave this a shot. I used a whole red bell bepper and turnip and well as WAY increased the spiciness factor. It was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k861084

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
This was so incredibly good! It's a meal all on its own. I wouldn't change anything in this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by druidfaerie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Hearty and flavorful! I substituted 2 small turnips (unpeeled) instead of half of one, a 15-oz can of fire roasted crushed tomatoes instead of 1/2 can of tomato sauce, and I added one medium-sized red potato, diced. I ended up simmering for 3 hours, the last 20 minutes I simmered uncovered to help it thicken. It is easy with a quick prep time, and lends itself to using all kinds of vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I made this recipe several says ago with some added celery and carrots and my wife hasn't stopped raving about it yet! I enlarged the recipe to 16 servings so that I would have some to dry for later. After having eaten from it twice, I stirred in the remaining basmati rice and popped it into the drier. It dried up "crunchy dry" in about 12 hours. I'm looking forward to eating this while backpacking, as well as storing a couple quarts for home use. My sister-in-law just brought some more monster-sized turnips. So I'm off to find other recipes, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LexingtonNC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
I doubled most of the recipe, leaving the cumin, curry and tomato sauce the same. I'm glad I did, because the spices are quite strong! This has good flavor, texture and color appeal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
LOVED this recipe. I did not have corn available, instead I added a sweet potato, vegetable broth, parsley, and spinach. After I sauteed the onion, I added the sweet potato before the other ingredients. I let them cook a few minutes, then added just a little of white wine vinegar, mixed, then about a tablespoon of water. I put the lid on and let them cook a few minutes more. Then I added the rest of the veggies and beans. When I added the sauce, I added the veggie broth. When the potatoes and turnips were almost done (I simmered at medium low) then I added the spinach and parsley. I served over brown rice. My husband thought it was a little too sweet, but I thought it was just right. He added some extra salt to his- I added extra parsley to mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Yum yum YUM! And easy too! I appreciate all the other reviews, and followed some of the suggestions. The can of corn I had was a bit more than called for in the recipe, so I added all. I added a full red pepper instead of a half. I used a full turnip (small sized). I also added half of a shallot along with the half onion. Since I added more vegetables than the original recipe called for, I used a full can of tomato sauce (just shy of double what the original recipe suggests). An hour and 45 minutes later, I'm in vegetable curry heaven! Fantastic recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Filling

This quick-and-easy sandwich spread is a great alternative to tuna salad.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States