Vegetarian Chickpea Curry with Turnips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
I had lots of leftover Turnips from my winter crop so gave this a shot. I used a whole red bell bepper and turnip and well as WAY increased the spiciness factor. It was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k861084

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Love quick, healthy recipes like this -- I just improvise with whatever veggies I have on hand (though zucchini and bell peppers are especially in this..)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
I doubled most of the recipe, leaving the cumin, curry and tomato sauce the same. I'm glad I did, because the spices are quite strong! This has good flavor, texture and color appeal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Pretty good, fast, and cheap. I will make it again - when we have turnips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
this was an awesome dish, I used a can of tomato soup instead of tomato sauce and I used a whole turnip. I also added 2 tsp of curry paste. I would make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Easy, cheap to make, and so good and versatile! This curry is good wrapped in an empanada!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingpoet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Hearty and flavorful! I substituted 2 small turnips (unpeeled) instead of half of one, a 15-oz can of fire roasted crushed tomatoes instead of 1/2 can of tomato sauce, and I added one medium-sized red potato, diced. I ended up simmering for 3 hours, the last 20 minutes I simmered uncovered to help it thicken. It is easy with a quick prep time, and lends itself to using all kinds of vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I added a green pepper and used all of the red pepper. It was good, but even better as leftovers a few days later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
This was everything I hoped it would be. I doubled the recipe, soaked dry chick peas overnight, drained them, and cooked everything in the slow cooker with 3 cups of water added -- I'd suggest a cooking time of 6 hours if you try it this way. I've got another bag of dry chick peas in the pantry, and I know what I'll be making with it. Might add some potatoes and/or lentils next time, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
YUM!! I used an entire turnip, and omitted the corn. Instead I used a large bunch of fresh spinach and 2 potatoes. I also put in some diced jalepeno for more spiciness. It was so healthful and yummy. I can't wait to make it again with different veggies. This is such a great recipe, thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Filling

This quick-and-easy sandwich spread is a great alternative to tuna salad.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States