Vegetarian Chickpea Curry with Turnips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
I had lots of leftover Turnips from my winter crop so gave this a shot. I used a whole red bell bepper and turnip and well as WAY increased the spiciness factor. It was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k861084

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Love quick, healthy recipes like this -- I just improvise with whatever veggies I have on hand (though zucchini and bell peppers are especially in this..)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
I doubled most of the recipe, leaving the cumin, curry and tomato sauce the same. I'm glad I did, because the spices are quite strong! This has good flavor, texture and color appeal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Pretty good, fast, and cheap. I will make it again - when we have turnips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
this was an awesome dish, I used a can of tomato soup instead of tomato sauce and I used a whole turnip. I also added 2 tsp of curry paste. I would make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Easy, cheap to make, and so good and versatile! This curry is good wrapped in an empanada!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingpoet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Hearty and flavorful! I substituted 2 small turnips (unpeeled) instead of half of one, a 15-oz can of fire roasted crushed tomatoes instead of 1/2 can of tomato sauce, and I added one medium-sized red potato, diced. I ended up simmering for 3 hours, the last 20 minutes I simmered uncovered to help it thicken. It is easy with a quick prep time, and lends itself to using all kinds of vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I added a green pepper and used all of the red pepper. It was good, but even better as leftovers a few days later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
This was everything I hoped it would be. I doubled the recipe, soaked dry chick peas overnight, drained them, and cooked everything in the slow cooker with 3 cups of water added -- I'd suggest a cooking time of 6 hours if you try it this way. I've got another bag of dry chick peas in the pantry, and I know what I'll be making with it. Might add some potatoes and/or lentils next time, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
YUM!! I used an entire turnip, and omitted the corn. Instead I used a large bunch of fresh spinach and 2 potatoes. I also put in some diced jalepeno for more spiciness. It was so healthful and yummy. I can't wait to make it again with different veggies. This is such a great recipe, thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Filling

This quick-and-easy sandwich spread is a great alternative to tuna salad.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States