Vegetarian Chickpea Curry with Turnips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This was delicious! I served it with rice, and it was a filling and satisfying meal. I was generous with the red pepper flakes, and it had a lovely heat. The balance of the spices with the tomato sauce and turnip was perfect. I would omit the corn in the future, but that is just because I am not a big corn fan. Thank you mia_bella84!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fex

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This was so Good!!! Used 2 small turnips & 1 red pepper, served over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I have made this a couple of times. A great healthy crockpot dinner. I used 1 cup of dry chickpeas that I soaked overnight before using, and added one cup of water to the recipe. I also replaced the tomato sauce with 1 can of crushed tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I make a chicken curry with coconut milk all the time but wanted to try something different. I made the vegetarian chickpea tonight and loved it. I swapped zucchini for the bell pepper (just out of personal preference) and added some cayenne pepper for extra kick, but other than that, followed the recipe pretty closely. It was a big hit with the fam. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moiralong

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glen Carbon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I thought it was an excellent vegetarian recipe that even my family liked who are not so crazy about vegetarian food that much. The turnip was a nice surprise. I did use a whole turnip since I didn't what else to use the other half for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I made this recipe with 3 small turnips that came in my veggie delivery box. I also had to use less spice because I realized at crush time, that I only had 1 tbsp. Of curry left. I served this to my family and an out-of-state guest on his first night here. My kids ate it up, and our guest said he didn't think he would have a better meal for the duration of his stay. Very adaptable recipe, I will keep it and try other veggies as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karri707
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
My first time with currys as well as turnips. YUMMY!! This is a great recipe. I forgot to buy a bell pepper so I left t out. I prepared it with brown jasmine rice & sauteed green kale with onions ... flavors complimented eachother well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karri707

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Like it a lot. I usually double the recipe so that there is not half cans of stuff left over. Very filling for someone who does not usually like meatless dishes. Also it is super easy to use frozen corn and to reduce the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Fab- U - lous!!! easy and great. with cottage cheese as i made it spicey be upping the red chili flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Very simple and delicious. I used a can of petite diced tomatoes in place of sauce. I also doubled the veggies. My first time cooking turnips and this recipe will be made again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Aviles LaFrance

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Filling

This quick-and-easy sandwich spread is a great alternative to tuna salad.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States