Vegetarian Chickpea Curry with Turnips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
I don't like curry...so I left it out and added Tony Chachere's instead. I used three turnips and canned beans and corn. I used petite tomatoes instead of sauce. Lots of garlic and cumin. Very happy :) Very versatile and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
It was so tasty. I made brown rice and kind of mixed it together after and squeeze fresh lime juice on it. sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tustin Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Yum yum YUM! And easy too! I appreciate all the other reviews, and followed some of the suggestions. The can of corn I had was a bit more than called for in the recipe, so I added all. I added a full red pepper instead of a half. I used a full turnip (small sized). I also added half of a shallot along with the half onion. Since I added more vegetables than the original recipe called for, I used a full can of tomato sauce (just shy of double what the original recipe suggests). An hour and 45 minutes later, I'm in vegetable curry heaven! Fantastic recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I've made this numerous times and it's always absolutely delish. I've found that the recipe itself is very adaptable. Today, for example, I had a lot of veggies from my CSA box (my daughter and her husband are organic farmers in Lake County, IL), so I just "went for it" and added veggies not mentioned in the recipe, e.g., carrots, Swiss chard, even a parsnip! Since I was making a larger batch than the recipe described, I added a large (28 oz.) can of crushed organic tomatoes and a 1/4 cup of filtered water. Perhaps most importantly, I added an extra teaspoon of cumin and also one of turmeric. (You can also just add more curry powder, to taste basically.) This is a great recipe and just cries out for adaptation. Use the veggies you have on hand and the spices and low, slow simmer will take care of the rest. Btw, I serve it over brown rice. Better than any Indian restaurant!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Good recipe, very simple, and satisfying. Had fresh turnips, and dried chickpeas, so made a few modifications. QUick cooked about 4 c. dried chickpeas (boiled for ten minutes, let soak for a few hours, then drain and proceeded with recipe). Used one whole large turnip, a whole onion, omitted red pepper flakes as serving to children. Added about 3 cups of water.Towards the end, threw a chopped unpeeled zucchini in. Would like it with more corn next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
this was delicious,my family ate it up and never even realized there was no meat in it.I'll definitely make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
OK, I brought the spices way down- to taste and added fresh tomatoes with the garlic. In addition, I added agave nectar and carrots. Both sugar and carrots are natural pair with the spices here. I did not add so much agave that it tasted sweet, only enough to pull together and soften the flavors. I did also add shaved almonds. With these additions I think this is a nice recipe. I am also certain adding a pinch of cinnamon to this dish would really add depth and color to it's flavor, but I am not one for cinnamon in my food. By the way, I used two small turnips rather than half of a large. For a non-veg alternative I seered some chicken tenderloins on both sides before starting with the recipe- just let the tenderloins go along for the ride in the pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Idar-Oberstein, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
This was so incredibly good! It's a meal all on its own. I wouldn't change anything in this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by druidfaerie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This was delicious! I served it with rice, and it was a filling and satisfying meal. I was generous with the red pepper flakes, and it had a lovely heat. The balance of the spices with the tomato sauce and turnip was perfect. I would omit the corn in the future, but that is just because I am not a big corn fan. Thank you mia_bella84!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fex

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This was so Good!!! Used 2 small turnips & 1 red pepper, served over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Filling

This quick-and-easy sandwich spread is a great alternative to tuna salad.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States