Vegetarian Chickpea Curry with Turnips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Thank you! Great idea. We loved it even without the corn and served with rice. We will make it again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Wonderful! Doubled the recipe since we like leftovers. Mostly made as directed, but decreased corn to one cup and added an extra turnip. Lots of flavor, spice and heat! Going into rotation. I think this would be wonderful with the addition of chicken. Thank you for the delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by advancedcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chelsea, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
FABULOUS! I used items I had on hand so ended up using shallots instead of onions, and an assortment of red, yellow and orange peppers from my bag of mini peppers. I also like "kick" so I added extra crushed red pepper to suit my taste. I also had a pound of ground turkey that I needed to use, so I added that as well. Wasn't sure if I was going to like it, as this was my introduction to cooking with turnips. All I can say, is that it is so good, I can't stop eating it! This is going to become a regular dish at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
This was delicious! I followed the recipe except substituted green bell pepper for the red. My only regret is not doubling it because I wish I had more left for lunch tomorrow. Even my four year old liked it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I was surprised how much I liked this and that everyone ate it. I used a little more tomato sauce and cumin and scraped a tiny bit of ginger in as well. Left out the corn. Also, I used half a turnip and a tiny russet potato cause my family had never had turnip before and were a little wary. Next time will try with only turnip cause no one could tell the difference. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I made this recipe several says ago with some added celery and carrots and my wife hasn't stopped raving about it yet! I enlarged the recipe to 16 servings so that I would have some to dry for later. After having eaten from it twice, I stirred in the remaining basmati rice and popped it into the drier. It dried up "crunchy dry" in about 12 hours. I'm looking forward to eating this while backpacking, as well as storing a couple quarts for home use. My sister-in-law just brought some more monster-sized turnips. So I'm off to find other recipes, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LexingtonNC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I am trying to limit the canned food used in my cooking and this recipe calls for a lot of canned food. The dish turned out all right, but next time I might avoid using canned tomato sauce and corns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
We followed the recipe as is--and it's nice and easy and tasty. A good weeknight vegetarian meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
A great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I was looking for a veg. recipe that used turnips and found this one. Loved it! I followed the recipe as written, with just the following adjustments: used a whole turnip and pepper (not half) and used half cup of corn and half cup of frozen peas (instead of a full cup of corn). the seasonings in the recipe as written were perfect. My dish was done after 60 mins simmer--the turnips were tender by then. Will add this to my regular rotation. Bonus, can serve to vegan friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Filling

This quick-and-easy sandwich spread is a great alternative to tuna salad.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States