Vegetarian Chickpea Curry with Turnips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I am trying to limit the canned food used in my cooking and this recipe calls for a lot of canned food. The dish turned out all right, but next time I might avoid using canned tomato sauce and corns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
We followed the recipe as is--and it's nice and easy and tasty. A good weeknight vegetarian meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
A great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I was looking for a veg. recipe that used turnips and found this one. Loved it! I followed the recipe as written, with just the following adjustments: used a whole turnip and pepper (not half) and used half cup of corn and half cup of frozen peas (instead of a full cup of corn). the seasonings in the recipe as written were perfect. My dish was done after 60 mins simmer--the turnips were tender by then. Will add this to my regular rotation. Bonus, can serve to vegan friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Delicious & easy recipe. I added a lot more veggies because I had them on hand and wanted to get an additional meal or two out of this dish. I followed the directions, but also added a potato, a zucchini, a yellow bell pepper, two jalapenos, and spinach. Really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I made this for dinner tonight. I didn't have turnips on hand so I didn't add those. I added carrots. I used tomato sauce as in the recipe list and I think this is important to get the right consistency rather than those who have suggested using diced tomatoes. I served with jasmine rice. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
I don't like curry...so I left it out and added Tony Chachere's instead. I used three turnips and canned beans and corn. I used petite tomatoes instead of sauce. Lots of garlic and cumin. Very happy :) Very versatile and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
It was so tasty. I made brown rice and kind of mixed it together after and squeeze fresh lime juice on it. sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tustin Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Yum yum YUM! And easy too! I appreciate all the other reviews, and followed some of the suggestions. The can of corn I had was a bit more than called for in the recipe, so I added all. I added a full red pepper instead of a half. I used a full turnip (small sized). I also added half of a shallot along with the half onion. Since I added more vegetables than the original recipe called for, I used a full can of tomato sauce (just shy of double what the original recipe suggests). An hour and 45 minutes later, I'm in vegetable curry heaven! Fantastic recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I've made this numerous times and it's always absolutely delish. I've found that the recipe itself is very adaptable. Today, for example, I had a lot of veggies from my CSA box (my daughter and her husband are organic farmers in Lake County, IL), so I just "went for it" and added veggies not mentioned in the recipe, e.g., carrots, Swiss chard, even a parsnip! Since I was making a larger batch than the recipe described, I added a large (28 oz.) can of crushed organic tomatoes and a 1/4 cup of filtered water. Perhaps most importantly, I added an extra teaspoon of cumin and also one of turmeric. (You can also just add more curry powder, to taste basically.) This is a great recipe and just cries out for adaptation. Use the veggies you have on hand and the spices and low, slow simmer will take care of the rest. Btw, I serve it over brown rice. Better than any Indian restaurant!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Filling

This quick-and-easy sandwich spread is a great alternative to tuna salad.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States