Vegetarian Chickpea Curry with Turnips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Very tasty. A had a big turnip so automatically doubled the recipe. My only tip might be, don't go too crazy on the spice. Maybe do half of what's called for, taste, then add more if you like. Very spicy according to what's called for of the recipe itself. Still very good, can see myself making it again(with less curry powder), so for that 5 stars! The small changes I made were mostly to try to bring down the heat some. A drizzle of maple syrup, 1/2 cup milk, cornstarch and 1/3 cup rich to soak up extra liquid. Took about an hour and a half for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Great vegetarian dish. I omitted the cumin (don't really care for it) and used Garam Masala instead. And I used rutabaga instead of turnip and crushed fire-roasted tomatoes instead of tomato sauce because that's what I had on hand. I also added the whole onion and pepper (red Diablo from my garden). I didn't use the red pepper flakes but added a generous dose of cayenne which was perfect. I also added chopped kale for the last half or so of cooking time. I will definitely make again, but I'm thinking about roasting the veggies first to caramelize them a bit (still leaving them firm) and then proceeding. This dish has endless possibilities!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
It took all of my self-control not to lick the bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasonFromCO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Byers, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
LOVED this recipe. I did not have corn available, instead I added a sweet potato, vegetable broth, parsley, and spinach. After I sauteed the onion, I added the sweet potato before the other ingredients. I let them cook a few minutes, then added just a little of white wine vinegar, mixed, then about a tablespoon of water. I put the lid on and let them cook a few minutes more. Then I added the rest of the veggies and beans. When I added the sauce, I added the veggie broth. When the potatoes and turnips were almost done (I simmered at medium low) then I added the spinach and parsley. I served over brown rice. My husband thought it was a little too sweet, but I thought it was just right. He added some extra salt to his- I added extra parsley to mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Thank you! Great idea. We loved it even without the corn and served with rice. We will make it again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Wonderful! Doubled the recipe since we like leftovers. Mostly made as directed, but decreased corn to one cup and added an extra turnip. Lots of flavor, spice and heat! Going into rotation. I think this would be wonderful with the addition of chicken. Thank you for the delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by advancedcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chelsea, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
FABULOUS! I used items I had on hand so ended up using shallots instead of onions, and an assortment of red, yellow and orange peppers from my bag of mini peppers. I also like "kick" so I added extra crushed red pepper to suit my taste. I also had a pound of ground turkey that I needed to use, so I added that as well. Wasn't sure if I was going to like it, as this was my introduction to cooking with turnips. All I can say, is that it is so good, I can't stop eating it! This is going to become a regular dish at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
This was delicious! I followed the recipe except substituted green bell pepper for the red. My only regret is not doubling it because I wish I had more left for lunch tomorrow. Even my four year old liked it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I was surprised how much I liked this and that everyone ate it. I used a little more tomato sauce and cumin and scraped a tiny bit of ginger in as well. Left out the corn. Also, I used half a turnip and a tiny russet potato cause my family had never had turnip before and were a little wary. Next time will try with only turnip cause no one could tell the difference. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I made this recipe several says ago with some added celery and carrots and my wife hasn't stopped raving about it yet! I enlarged the recipe to 16 servings so that I would have some to dry for later. After having eaten from it twice, I stirred in the remaining basmati rice and popped it into the drier. It dried up "crunchy dry" in about 12 hours. I'm looking forward to eating this while backpacking, as well as storing a couple quarts for home use. My sister-in-law just brought some more monster-sized turnips. So I'm off to find other recipes, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LexingtonNC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Filling

This quick-and-easy sandwich spread is a great alternative to tuna salad.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States