Vegetarian Chickpea Curry with Turnips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
Very delicious and flavorful basic recipe! I doubled everything but the chickpeas and added more water for broth. Next time I'll add some coconut milk for extra richness. As is, a bit of Greek yogurt on top adds a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
This was delicious and healthy as is. I didn't change a thing! Good with rice or rolled up in a wrap!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Great recipe! Will make again with different vegetables too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Delicious! I used a rutabaga instead, it was perfect. Definitely plan to make this again. Easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Really, really yummy! However, cut the recipe in half, and thought it seemed a bit dry. Had to add a ton of water for desired results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Great recipe - can use really any veggies that appeal to you. A great way to use up those leftover veggies at the end of the week. I may try throwing in some chicken next time as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Didn't have any turnips (and not a big fan), so I used a whole red pepper and spinach instead. Turned out very nicely! Also used basil tomato sauce since I was out of plain sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Wow, so delicious. Hearty and just enough spice to keep me wanting more! I used 2 turnips and did not add the red pepper. Fantastic! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I have used this recipe exactly the way it's listed and with all sorts of veggie substitutions. (radishes, kale, broccoli, carrots, potatoes to name a few) I love it. It's a great base and usually end up making it at least every two weeks to finish up the veggies from my csa box. Sometimes I add yogurt at the end, sometimes I don't. It usually doesn't take an hour to be ready if I've copped the veggies into bite size pieces but it does taste richer the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I've wanted to try making a curry for awhile now and yesterday seemed a good day to go with it. Snowy and cold, the day called for spicy comfort food. This recipe was exactly what I needed. It was an excellent guide to help whip up a wonderful curry. I did make several changes based on what I had on hand and personal taste. The result was delicious. I think curry is like so many widely loved dishes, such as chili, in that there are a zillion ways to adapt it. Speaking of chili, I only like cumin in chili so I left it out and used coriander. I agree with another review -- add the spices a little at a time so that it is the right amount for you. I used about 1 1/2 TBS of curry powder and about 1 1/2 TBS of coriander. I didn't have a turnip. I did use parsnips, carrots, and a small potato. I also added a touch of agave syrup to bind the flavors as suggested in another review. Don't you just love learning from new recipes AND the reviews? Sadly, did not have a red pepper. Left out the corn, but I think it's also a good idea. Served it on jasmine rice. We loved it. Oh, I used more tomato sauce and kept adding water because I wanted plenty of liquid. Thank you, mia_bella, for helping me make my first curry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Filling

This quick-and-easy sandwich spread is a great alternative to tuna salad.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States