Vegetarian Chickpea Curry with Turnips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
Very delicious and flavorful basic recipe! I doubled everything but the chickpeas and added more water for broth. Next time I'll add some coconut milk for extra richness. As is, a bit of Greek yogurt on top adds a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
This was delicious and healthy as is. I didn't change a thing! Good with rice or rolled up in a wrap!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Great recipe! Will make again with different vegetables too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Delicious! I used a rutabaga instead, it was perfect. Definitely plan to make this again. Easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Really, really yummy! However, cut the recipe in half, and thought it seemed a bit dry. Had to add a ton of water for desired results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Great recipe - can use really any veggies that appeal to you. A great way to use up those leftover veggies at the end of the week. I may try throwing in some chicken next time as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Didn't have any turnips (and not a big fan), so I used a whole red pepper and spinach instead. Turned out very nicely! Also used basil tomato sauce since I was out of plain sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Wow, so delicious. Hearty and just enough spice to keep me wanting more! I used 2 turnips and did not add the red pepper. Fantastic! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I have used this recipe exactly the way it's listed and with all sorts of veggie substitutions. (radishes, kale, broccoli, carrots, potatoes to name a few) I love it. It's a great base and usually end up making it at least every two weeks to finish up the veggies from my csa box. Sometimes I add yogurt at the end, sometimes I don't. It usually doesn't take an hour to be ready if I've copped the veggies into bite size pieces but it does taste richer the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I've wanted to try making a curry for awhile now and yesterday seemed a good day to go with it. Snowy and cold, the day called for spicy comfort food. This recipe was exactly what I needed. It was an excellent guide to help whip up a wonderful curry. I did make several changes based on what I had on hand and personal taste. The result was delicious. I think curry is like so many widely loved dishes, such as chili, in that there are a zillion ways to adapt it. Speaking of chili, I only like cumin in chili so I left it out and used coriander. I agree with another review -- add the spices a little at a time so that it is the right amount for you. I used about 1 1/2 TBS of curry powder and about 1 1/2 TBS of coriander. I didn't have a turnip. I did use parsnips, carrots, and a small potato. I also added a touch of agave syrup to bind the flavors as suggested in another review. Don't you just love learning from new recipes AND the reviews? Sadly, did not have a red pepper. Left out the corn, but I think it's also a good idea. Served it on jasmine rice. We loved it. Oh, I used more tomato sauce and kept adding water because I wanted plenty of liquid. Thank you, mia_bella, for helping me make my first curry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Filling

This quick-and-easy sandwich spread is a great alternative to tuna salad.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States