Vegetarian Chickpea Curry with Turnips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Delicious! I used a rutabaga instead, it was perfect. Definitely plan to make this again. Easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Really, really yummy! However, cut the recipe in half, and thought it seemed a bit dry. Had to add a ton of water for desired results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Great recipe - can use really any veggies that appeal to you. A great way to use up those leftover veggies at the end of the week. I may try throwing in some chicken next time as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Didn't have any turnips (and not a big fan), so I used a whole red pepper and spinach instead. Turned out very nicely! Also used basil tomato sauce since I was out of plain sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Wow, so delicious. Hearty and just enough spice to keep me wanting more! I used 2 turnips and did not add the red pepper. Fantastic! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I have used this recipe exactly the way it's listed and with all sorts of veggie substitutions. (radishes, kale, broccoli, carrots, potatoes to name a few) I love it. It's a great base and usually end up making it at least every two weeks to finish up the veggies from my csa box. Sometimes I add yogurt at the end, sometimes I don't. It usually doesn't take an hour to be ready if I've copped the veggies into bite size pieces but it does taste richer the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I've wanted to try making a curry for awhile now and yesterday seemed a good day to go with it. Snowy and cold, the day called for spicy comfort food. This recipe was exactly what I needed. It was an excellent guide to help whip up a wonderful curry. I did make several changes based on what I had on hand and personal taste. The result was delicious. I think curry is like so many widely loved dishes, such as chili, in that there are a zillion ways to adapt it. Speaking of chili, I only like cumin in chili so I left it out and used coriander. I agree with another review -- add the spices a little at a time so that it is the right amount for you. I used about 1 1/2 TBS of curry powder and about 1 1/2 TBS of coriander. I didn't have a turnip. I did use parsnips, carrots, and a small potato. I also added a touch of agave syrup to bind the flavors as suggested in another review. Don't you just love learning from new recipes AND the reviews? Sadly, did not have a red pepper. Left out the corn, but I think it's also a good idea. Served it on jasmine rice. We loved it. Oh, I used more tomato sauce and kept adding water because I wanted plenty of liquid. Thank you, mia_bella, for helping me make my first curry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
A simple and easy dish to make if you have a little time on your hands. The basmati rice was an almost must add for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I made some changes, most notably using potatoes instead of turnips and reducing the amount of curry powder used. I have a spicy curry powder, so only used 1 T. I did drain the chickpeas, and rinse, because I don't like the taste of the liquid. I added water to the recipe, but it still burned to the bottom of the pan a bit. I added a half cup of light coconut milk at the end, which I thought really added to the richness of the recipe. I served it over quinoa...the flavor ended up being lovely, but I wish it had been a little more liquidy. If I make it again, I'll adjust it further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Doubled the recipe, but tripled the turnips and garlic. Even added some parsnips. Delicious over brown rice! Next time I'll add more turnips (trying to like them since they're so abundant in the garden!) This recipe would be great with any combination of root vegetables!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Filling

This quick-and-easy sandwich spread is a great alternative to tuna salad.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States