Vegetarian Cassoulet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2014
This is one of the best ever. I substituted V-8 for the broth, and at the last minute decided to make it non-vegetarian by adding a little sliced sausage. I can't describe how good this was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
We really enjoyed this ! Great comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Very bland. Not worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Loved this - my kids even ate it! Going to be making it a lot this Winter. Had to make a few adjustments out of necessity - stove-top rather than slow cooker. Dried herbs rather than fresh. Veggie broth rather than mushroom. It still rocked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salford, Lancashire, England, U.K.
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
One of the most disappointing recipes I've tried on here, and I've tried hundreds! I tried to look over as many reviews as possible to get suggestions on how to make this recipe great. Even when I added more seasoning, garlic, and barley, it still turned out unappealing in terms of appearance. It seems to be missing a few somethings, and I think it could have potential with some tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
This recipe was DELICIOUS!! It tasted so luxurious-like we were eating a very special celebration meal but it was just a normal weeknight. We ate it as some reviewers suggested, good crusty bread w/ butter and the beans. The only change I made was I added lots more carrots to add extra veggies. I didn't have all the spices in my cupboard so I used what I had. (Omitted savory and used lemon pepper instead of lemon thyme) and it turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Added in a lot from the prior reviews (veggie sausage, chopped the fresh herbs, 1 bottle white wine for more liquid, used 4 cans of mixed beans, made it on stove top, added a bit of spinach leaves at the end) and it came out VERY flavorful, and received rave reviews from Vegetarians, and meat-eaters as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Very Tasty and easy recipe, but I thought it was a little on the bland side. I followed the recipe exact, except I didn't cook the onion and carrots first, I just threw them in the crock pot as is. A tad more flavor and it would be 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
This recipe is lacking salt, pepper, and flavor in general. I chose it because I am looking for vegetarian recipes. I would only make it again if I were in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I was really looking forward to this, and had to go to a few stores to find the herbs. I followed recipe and ended up with a bland, brown dish with undercooked beans. Maybe it was a fluke with my specific ingredients (since others had better luck), but it didn't work at all. How it could be so tasteless with all those herbs is beyond me. The cook time was way too long for the veggies, they should have been added once the beans were finished. Pricey too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cassoulet

A classic white bean casserole with bacon, sausage, and duck confit.

How to Plan a Meatless Monday

Keep flavor and variety--and your favorite dishes--while cutting out meat.

Chef John's Quick Cassoulet

In this video, you’ll see how to make cassoulet in just an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States