Vegetarian Cassoulet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Added in a lot from the prior reviews (veggie sausage, chopped the fresh herbs, 1 bottle white wine for more liquid, used 4 cans of mixed beans, made it on stove top, added a bit of spinach leaves at the end) and it came out VERY flavorful, and received rave reviews from Vegetarians, and meat-eaters as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This was an excellent recipe. I followed VONTEITY's recommendations from January, 2005 and made mushroom soup from scratch, overnight while the beans were soaking in another container. After the beans soaked overnight, I boiled them for about 5 minutes and then cut the heat and let them soak for about an hour before including them with the other ingredients. I discarded the vegetables from the mushroom broth and added 8 ounces of chopped mushrooms to the recipe. I also doubled the vegetables in the recipe and omitted the vegetable bouillon. Since it is winter, I substituted 1 tsp each of rosemary, thyme and savory for the fresh sprigs. I also added 1 tsp of poultry seasoning and added 1 small can of (mild) minced chilies. I cooked everything for about 9 hours and served this with some French bread. This is not a spur-of the moment recipe. I think the mushroom broth adds some flavor to this dish. However, preparing this recipe is pretty simple. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmihalo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Munster, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
This recipe was DELICIOUS!! It tasted so luxurious-like we were eating a very special celebration meal but it was just a normal weeknight. We ate it as some reviewers suggested, good crusty bread w/ butter and the beans. The only change I made was I added lots more carrots to add extra veggies. I didn't have all the spices in my cupboard so I used what I had. (Omitted savory and used lemon pepper instead of lemon thyme) and it turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
We really enjoyed this ! Great comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
My whole family loved this. The nine year old had two big servings, AND asked to take the leftovers to school for lunch the next day. I served it with fresh rosemary bread and a green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Arthur, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
This was absolutely delicious. I made mushroom broth in my crockpot the night prior to assembling this recipe, using 1/2 lb sliced mushrooms, 1/2 white onion, chopped and 4 cups of water. I actually reserved some of the mushrooms and added them to the ingredients. I wanted a lot more veggies in this stew, so I doubled the carrots and potatoes and added some celery. I used a "chicken seasonings blend" of fresh rosemary, thyme and sage from the supermarket as a shortcut, and that worked out great! This recipe is really adaptable to however you want to make it, but it's just as delicious precisely as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vonteity

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
Awesome soup! My husband and I loved it. 7 year old stepdaughter "just" liked it, but her 6 year old friend practically licked her bowl clean! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This was absolutely delicious. We used vegetable broth instead of mushroom broth and added bay leaves and crush red peppers and a little curry powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
delicious soup......instead of just navy beans i added my own mixture of peas, barley, lentils and beans. i also added a few more ingredients mixed pumpkin, celery and mushrooms. Ooooooooh....and fresh lemon grass
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
I couldn't find dried beans, so I used canned white kidney beans and they were perfect. I also added chopped carrots and sliced veggie sausage, which was probably my favorite part. If you make this, I strongly suggest you add the sausage, it makes it so delicious! All in all, this is a super tasty recipe that's very filling with just a tiny serving. I highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cassoulet

A classic white bean casserole with bacon, sausage, and duck confit.

How to Plan a Meatless Monday

Keep flavor and variety--and your favorite dishes--while cutting out meat.

Chef John's Quick Cassoulet

In this video, you’ll see how to make cassoulet in just an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States