Vegetarian Cassoulet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
My whole family loved this. The nine year old had two big servings, AND asked to take the leftovers to school for lunch the next day. I served it with fresh rosemary bread and a green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Arthur, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
This was absolutely delicious. I made mushroom broth in my crockpot the night prior to assembling this recipe, using 1/2 lb sliced mushrooms, 1/2 white onion, chopped and 4 cups of water. I actually reserved some of the mushrooms and added them to the ingredients. I wanted a lot more veggies in this stew, so I doubled the carrots and potatoes and added some celery. I used a "chicken seasonings blend" of fresh rosemary, thyme and sage from the supermarket as a shortcut, and that worked out great! This recipe is really adaptable to however you want to make it, but it's just as delicious precisely as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vonteity

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
Awesome soup! My husband and I loved it. 7 year old stepdaughter "just" liked it, but her 6 year old friend practically licked her bowl clean! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
This soup smelled fantastic and I liked the flavor but the beans weren't cooked enough for my taste. Next time I think I'll cook them for about an hour on the stove and then add them to the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
It didn't go over well with my husband. I think maybe I cooked it too long?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MENMYTEDDY13

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
This was a big hit at our fall potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
This was...OK. I made mushroom broth in the slow cooker the night before and included some of the mushrooms, as another reviewer suggested. I also soaked teh beans overnight, adn they were well-cooked in the final dish. But it was...uninspiring. Maybe I expected more because it was called a "cassoulet", which I love and was excited to try a meatless version, but... It got eaten, but I don't think I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
this is a great recipe. I made one change to make it fat free. simmer onion and carrots in a small amount of water or vegetable broth this omits the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
This recipe makes a tasty, if subtle dish. My husband really liked it, but my son and I prefer stronger flavors. I will make this again, but as a side dish, not a vegetarian entree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROGAMIL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
This was really good the only thing I might do different next time is used canned beans rather than dry. It was like soup when I started but by the time the beans had cooked the liquid was almost gone, what was left was kinda slimmy. It's still very good, I love the flavor. Next time i will cook on the stove, used canned beans added the potatoes at the same time and only cook til potatoes are done, then it should be more like a soup. I might play around w/ dried spices also cause the fresh ones are to expensive and I usually only end up using a tiny bit then they go bad so its a waste of money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jade

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cassoulet

A classic white bean casserole with bacon, sausage, and duck confit.

How to Plan a Meatless Monday

Keep flavor and variety--and your favorite dishes--while cutting out meat.

Chef John's Quick Cassoulet

In this video, you’ll see how to make cassoulet in just an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States