Vegetarian Cassoulet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
My husband gave it a 4/5 with hot sauce! This was fun to make and went together easily. Good crockpot meal for a winter family dinner. Serve with salad and cornbread for a complete meal. Thanks Syd for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
A tasty, very hearty winter meal. I soaked the navy beans over night and put them in the crock pot and cooked everything for 8 hours together and had no problem with beans not being cooked or running out of liquid. It turned out a very nice consistency. I did add some extra veggies, but nothing too interesting. I did find it a touch on the bland side, and next time I will try adding some wine to the broth. Very nice in the winter though, and I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliann Tatham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I used canned beans instead of dried, and dried herbs in place of fresh, but otherwise stuck to the recipe. While we liked it, we didn't think there was anything special about it. Nothing really knocked our socks off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by almondjoy2807

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaside, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
delicious and different. Love that this is a new taste for me. I'll definitely add my own twist to it next time (more potatoes, whole mushrooms, pasta/rice). Great base to experiment with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelleywilsonaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
I couldn't find dried beans, so I used canned white kidney beans and they were perfect. I also added chopped carrots and sliced veggie sausage, which was probably my favorite part. If you make this, I strongly suggest you add the sausage, it makes it so delicious! All in all, this is a super tasty recipe that's very filling with just a tiny serving. I highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
the only things I changed was to add 3cloves of garlic and a 1/4 cup of barley its a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
delicious soup......instead of just navy beans i added my own mixture of peas, barley, lentils and beans. i also added a few more ingredients mixed pumpkin, celery and mushrooms. Ooooooooh....and fresh lemon grass
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This was an excellent recipe. I followed VONTEITY's recommendations from January, 2005 and made mushroom soup from scratch, overnight while the beans were soaking in another container. After the beans soaked overnight, I boiled them for about 5 minutes and then cut the heat and let them soak for about an hour before including them with the other ingredients. I discarded the vegetables from the mushroom broth and added 8 ounces of chopped mushrooms to the recipe. I also doubled the vegetables in the recipe and omitted the vegetable bouillon. Since it is winter, I substituted 1 tsp each of rosemary, thyme and savory for the fresh sprigs. I also added 1 tsp of poultry seasoning and added 1 small can of (mild) minced chilies. I cooked everything for about 9 hours and served this with some French bread. This is not a spur-of the moment recipe. I think the mushroom broth adds some flavor to this dish. However, preparing this recipe is pretty simple. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmihalo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Munster, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This dish is good, and easy. I can't find "savory" around so I just use a leaf or two of sage in this. I usually have to add a healthy pinch of salt to this but otherwise I really like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This is great. And even more interesting if you use Tofurkey Italian Sausage cut up in 1/2 to 1 inch slices. Vegan heaven!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cassoulet

A classic white bean casserole with bacon, sausage, and duck confit.

How to Plan a Meatless Monday

Keep flavor and variety--and your favorite dishes--while cutting out meat.

Chef John's Quick Cassoulet

In this video, you’ll see how to make cassoulet in just an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States