Vegetarian Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Awesome flavor and nice and moist. Everyone loved it. A bit of a pain to make though. It was a bit crumbly too, but not dry at all! I gave it 5 starts because even though it was a pain to make it was still so good. The kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monument, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Delicious. I enjoyed it as a breakfast with some cottage cheese and tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Fantastic cake! Perfect if you like a treat that's satisfying but not too sweet. I could not find currants so I substituted them with dried cherries:) I'm keeping the cherries in. I will definitely make this again and pass the recipe on to friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I was leary to try this cake, but it is actually really good! I threw in a small zucchini that I had around, too. The batter was very thick and I didn't think it would be moist enough, but once the fruit and veg is added, there's plenty of moisture and it mixes well. I used whole wheat flour and would maybe add some ground flax seed next time to really drive home the healthy factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hooper, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
I am looking forward to trying this recipe. I am going to experiment with cutting back the sugar, maybe using agave syrup in place of. Also would like to try it with a mixture of low-gluten flours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Newton Pause

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairlee, Vermont, USA
Living In: Wilder, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
I eat it for a breakfast on the go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
So moist and tasty. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
It's a lot of work grating up all of those veggies but well worth it. So moist and not overly sweet. I didn't have a bundt pan and so I used a 9 x 13 pan and didn't change baking times. Turned out very good. Thanks for the great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anjilee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Americus, Kansas, USA
Living In: Iuka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
This cake was Fantastic!!!! I left out the currants and used dark molasses and it was so tasty. I brought it to work for the girls and they were shocked it had potato in it. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
This cake turned out great! My kids love it and don't know they are eating their vegetables. I used whole wheat flour and added a small zuccini. The next time I will try reducing the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States