Vegetarian Cabbage Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
This was my first time making this with canned tomato soup. Next time I will probably just use tomato sauce like I have done in the past. Other than that, the recipe worked really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
This wasn't bad per se but I had way too much filling left over. I also thought it could have been more flavourful. I was not a fan of the tomato soup and if I make this again I will use marinara sauce instead. Thanks though for your effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanieMomof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
Liked the idea of this recipe.First I removed leaves from cabbage and boiled 2 minutes,removed to collander and rinsed in cold water;much easier.Second I was not fond of the tomato soup sauce.I used one can tomato paste mixed with 4 cans water,bay leaf,garlic,1/8 teaspoon allspice,pinch cinnamon and some dried parsley which I simmered on stove beforehand.Otherwise pretty good.Next time I think I'll add some raisins to filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEYSOLA

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
I thought this was pretty good. It was one of my favorite dishes growing up, but I haven't had it since becoming a vegetarian years ago. This wasn't quite like Mom's, but close enough. As others suggested, I used watered-down tomato sauce instead of the soup. Definnitely time consuming, so I'll stick to making it on the weekend. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
I made this as a vegetarian alternative to the reg cabbage rolls since I have alot of vegetarian friends and needed something for them to eat at a potluck! I found these alot harder to roll than other cabbage rolls but I left out the veg protein...didn't have any maybe that is the difference. Once they were cooked they held together very nicely and the flavour was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
Loved this recipe and so did my anti-vegetarian husband. I also removed the cabbage leaves, boiled them for 2 minutes. Added dried cranberries to filling mixture - a nice counterpoint to the other flavors. Don't like tomato soup as a sauce so also made a quick tomato sauce by simmering 2 cans of tomato sauce with italian herb seasoning, garlic, salt, pepper and a pinch of sugar. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I really liked this recipe. It is time consuming, but it was worth it to me. My husband is not a vegetarian, so I browned some ground beef and sprinkled some in the rolls that he would eat. We ate them a couple of days in a row and then froze the rest. I'm sure they'll come out fine, as I have frozen regular cabbage rolls with success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Worked well! Thanks for the recipe! I used LightLife Smart Ground for the fake meat and it was delicious. I needed a little extra water for my rice. Didn't put a whole tomato in each one, probably about a third. Also didn't add red pepper (store was out) and no peas because I don't like them much. Used tomato sauce instead of soup as others had suggested. Added a little dried oregano with the basil. I had about half a cup of extra filling at the end so I will probably use less of everything next time or use a bigger cabbage. I also didn't bother with toothpicks, just put them seam-side down in the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepeachpie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Cerrito, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
Made this the other night it was very good I used sauce instead of the soup and it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morgan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anichka
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Made this for New Year's Day and it turned out pretty well. I did make quite a few modifications, though. I used 1 (12 oz?) package of MorningStar Farms veggie crumbles (same as TVP, just one less step). I didn't add carrots, peas, red pepper, or wine to the filling. After cooking the onion and garlic, I added some mushrooms as well (the rest of the stuff just seemed wrong to me - I was trying to make it closer to the meat versions I grew up with). I also didn't like the idea of putting whole tomatoes in the rolls, so I just added a can of diced tomatoes the the filling. For the sauce, I used the one from the Turkey Cabbage Rolls listed on allrecipes.com. It was okay, but it would have been better without brown sugar, as it was on the sweet side. All in all, a LOT of work, but yummy. Glad New Year's only comes once a year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States