Vegetarian Cabbage Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Have made 3 times now and still Very Good! Everyone eats this! I don't ever cook with wine because I don't know it well enough so I omitted the white wine from the recipe when I make it. I used all of the ingredients (except the wine) in the amounts listed but because I am lazy and don't want to spend all day cooking I made this into a casserole instead of cabbage rolls. I put the rice on to steam first then I sautéed the onion, bell pepper and garlic together in a large stock pot. Then added the protein crumbles and cooked them all the way through. Next I added all spices, tomato soup and canned tomatoes. I chopped up the cabbage into bite sized pieces and added that to the pot and let simmer on low for about one hour or until the rice was finished. added rice to the pot and mixed everything up. poured into casserole dish and baked at 350 for 30 minutes. I serve it with shredded cheese on top and homemade dinner rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
I have yet to try the vegetarian "sarmale" but have made this meat style Romanian dish many, many times. One missing step: To better work with the cabbage leaves, cut off the think vein (trim down) that runs down the back of each leaf. You can also find prepared leaves in an oriental market place and they are generally soured heads with leaves removed. Fresh work as well but depends on your tastes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Germgaz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
I had a massive head of cabbage from my CSA, so even though this is kind of a wintery dish, I went ahead and made it to avoid adding more cabbage soup to my deep freezer stash! I stuck a fork in the core of the cabbage and submerged it in a pot of boiling salted water, removing the outer leaves with a paring knife every 2 minutes or so. I substituted a package of Boca crumbles for the TVP and used a green bell pepper instead of red because that's what I had, and I omitted the wine because that's what I didn't have :-). I used diced tomatoes instead of whole (I couldn't find a 14.5 oz can of whole and I didn't want leftover tomatoes) and two cans of tomato sauce seasoned with minced garlic, oregano, basil, and thyme instead of soup as per others' suggestions. Served it with mashed potatoes and corn on the cob. It was very tasty, though rather time-consuming, so I'm not sure I'd go out of my way to make it again. Unless I happen to get another massive head of cabbage in my CSA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
VERY timely, as I suppose all cabbage rolls are. Did not care for the tofu mixture. I am vegetarian and maybe I picked the wrong brand of tofu? It just did not taste like a "real" cabbage roll. Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This recipe was outstanding! I made a few very minor changes for my taste but fully credit the creator of this for the amazing recipe! Instead of using egg I added 2 tbsp flaxseed meal mixed with 4-5 tbsp water. I also did not add the peas because they did sound a little out of place in this and I'm not a huge fan anyway. Like other reviewers, I used tomato sauce instead of soup. And, lastly, I used pressed extra firm tofu that I had run through the chopper instead of the veggie protein. The meal was great. As others have said as well, even my 'meatatarian' hubby liked it! Truly a delicious, satisfying meal, that doesn't take TOO long to prepare and I even had some leftover to bring to work for lunch tomorrow! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SailorJane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
It was a good start but I can't give it 5 stars since I made more than one change.I didn't use tomatoe soup, I used two cans of stewed tomatoes. I used a large can of diced tomatoes rather than the whole peeled. I also cut out the egg (I'm vegan), the peas (seemed wrong), the onion or garlic powder (we're already using onions and garlic in the recipe., and substituted chili powder for the cayenne, and cumin for the red pepper sauce. Gave it a pleasant southwestern flavour. This was a lot of work but it made a a generous amount which I froze a great deal of in meal size portions so I would say it was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustDMarine

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anichka
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Made this for New Year's Day and it turned out pretty well. I did make quite a few modifications, though. I used 1 (12 oz?) package of MorningStar Farms veggie crumbles (same as TVP, just one less step). I didn't add carrots, peas, red pepper, or wine to the filling. After cooking the onion and garlic, I added some mushrooms as well (the rest of the stuff just seemed wrong to me - I was trying to make it closer to the meat versions I grew up with). I also didn't like the idea of putting whole tomatoes in the rolls, so I just added a can of diced tomatoes the the filling. For the sauce, I used the one from the Turkey Cabbage Rolls listed on allrecipes.com. It was okay, but it would have been better without brown sugar, as it was on the sweet side. All in all, a LOT of work, but yummy. Glad New Year's only comes once a year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
Made this the other night it was very good I used sauce instead of the soup and it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morgan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Worked well! Thanks for the recipe! I used LightLife Smart Ground for the fake meat and it was delicious. I needed a little extra water for my rice. Didn't put a whole tomato in each one, probably about a third. Also didn't add red pepper (store was out) and no peas because I don't like them much. Used tomato sauce instead of soup as others had suggested. Added a little dried oregano with the basil. I had about half a cup of extra filling at the end so I will probably use less of everything next time or use a bigger cabbage. I also didn't bother with toothpicks, just put them seam-side down in the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepeachpie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Cerrito, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I really liked this recipe. It is time consuming, but it was worth it to me. My husband is not a vegetarian, so I browned some ground beef and sprinkled some in the rolls that he would eat. We ate them a couple of days in a row and then froze the rest. I'm sure they'll come out fine, as I have frozen regular cabbage rolls with success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States