Vegetarian Burrito Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I tried this recipe over the weekend and it was DELICIOUS! My only suggestion is that when adding the chili pepper, which can be spicy, really SPRINKLE it over the 'meat mixture.' Otherwise, it won't mix well and you'll have spicier bites of the casserole than others. In general, this was easy (my toddlers helped me make it!), fun to make, and really, really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Got rave reviews at my house. Here is what I did differently, though I'm sure the original is great as well. I used 3/4 a bag of soy crumble (not the full bag - used 1/4 to go in some dip). To make the recipe healthier, I used black beans that I drained, microwaved, and mashed instead of re-fried beans. I used brown rice instead of white rice. I also added 1/2 cup of bell peper and 1/4 cup of onion to the soy crumble mixture. Used diced canned tomatoes instead of whole canned tomatoes b/c that's what I had at the house. I also used more 1/2 cup more salsa than indicated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
Excellent! We topped it with sour cream and fresh cilantro. I used brown rice instead of white rice and whole wheat tortillas. Big hit even with the "meat eaters" in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
This was great. Will make again and again, but boyfriend requested that we make this a fall/winter/cold weather day recipe. Used the vegetarian re-fried beans recipe from this site. Both came out excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JADE1977

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
This was a great recipe. I did make a few changes though. I used two layers of corn tortillas instead of flour, I used a large jar of southwest salsa and no additional tomatoes, I also used flavored mexican rice instead of plain. Everyone loved it and it was soooo easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
This is a recipe I will modify and make again and again. A couple of notes. First, either tomatoes OR salsa is sufficient (I used "mexican" seasoned stewed tomatoes - way cheaper than salsa and just as flavorful). Second, next time I will add extra veggies (corn, zucchini, carrots, etc) to the mix. Third, I had a hard time layering! Next time I will mix everything together except the cheese and tortillas - it's a casserole after all :) Finally, I had to use a 9x12 or so baking dish! There's no way that volume of food would fit in an 8x8. Oh, and I used corn tortillas - still unrefined (as is whole wheat) but more flavor and texture. Thanks for a new go-to recipe - this will be a great one for a week's worth of dinners!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
I LOVE this! I have made it about 5 times in the last few weeks. I added more beans, because I love beans, especially refried black bean. I also have done different variations with yellow summer squash, onions, green and red peppers, okra and zucchinni. Its been a huge hit at potlucks and when I have had guests over. I use brown rice and omit the salsa, because I think it might be a little runny with the salsa. I will make this again and again! yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
This was just o.k. It was very filling and it makes a ton. I don't think I will be making this again as I didn't like the flavor that the "meat" gave it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
Of all the complex, gourmet or exotic recipes I have tried from this site, this is the one that my husband likes. It's easy, quick and so good. I kept it pretty much the same. I too put the patty;s in the food processor. Next time I will just crumble them, they were a bit too mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Courtice, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
This recipe was super easy to make and absolutely delicious! Even my husband loved it and he is definitely a meat eater!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

Quick dinner idea for Cinco de Mayo or any day you are craving Mexican food.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States