Vegetarian Burrito Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Made this with Mexican protein veggie crumbles and it was delicious! My husband, who is not a vegetarian, didn't complain about the lack of meat. He had two helpings then leftovers the next night. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centerville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mohnton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
This is a great recipe for adapting - we've made it many times. It's entirely too much for an 8x8 though, that wastes ingredients. We make it in a 13x9 like this: First lay down 2 tortillas, side by side. Cover in refried beans. We use a small can of green chiles instead of jalapenos out of personal preference. Layer the rest of the ingredients in any order: peppers, rice, all of the TVP mixture, salsa, & cheese. Top with 2 more tortillas, remaining refried beans, some salsa, we add diced onion here, & the remaining cheese. We serve with Mexicorn on the side, would be great in the dish as well, maybe with some black beans as well. Top with sour cream, corn on the side. It's really impossible to mess this dish up, so change it up to what suits your needs & it will most likely still be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brianna Woody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Yummy Yummy Yummy! I really enjoyed this for dinner. I changed things to match what I had on hand. I used about a cup of instant brown rice. I left out the soy burger-style crumbles just because I have no interest in trying them. I cooked the veg. refried beans in a saucepan with a 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes with jalapenos with none of the juices drained out. I added in my own taco seasoning instead of a packet. I used 4 fresh jalapenos and 1/4 of an onion that I threw in the pan with the beans and tomatoes. I also threw the salsa in the with the beans and the rice once it was cooked, so I wouldn't have to do so much layering. I did a whole wheat tortilla then bean mixture and cheese, another tortilla bean mixture and cheese, then another tortilla and topped that with the rest of the cheese. I think this cooked 40 minutes altogether and I only let it rest 5 before I cut it ( I was too hungry to wait anymore! ) Will make again, thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Excellent recipe! I make it all the time. You can prepare ahead, but the cook time is 45 minutes. I usually make this one and one with ground beef for my hubby. I divide the recipe in half and use fajita size tortillas instead. I also add corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
LOVED it! After tasting the soy mixture while cooking, I was worried that we wouldn't like this casserole but once it's all put together and cooked through, it has a flavor that my whole family loved! I did not have any jalapeno on hand so I left them out and I used six 6" corn tortillas instead of the two 10" flour tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karla Spindler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I used the Boca Grilled meatless burgers and crumbled them myself and I think it really MADE it. I keep getting requests for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This is one of my favorites! I love cooking this up and eating off of it for a week! My non-veggie friends love this as well--most of them couldn't even tell that it was soy crumbles. I've also added a little sour cream and black olives for extra zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarahsue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I don't even know how appropriate it is for me to review this since I changed so much...I used tofu instead of soy crumbles, brown rice instead of white, added green onions and peppers since I had them around I dropped the salsa and jalapenos altogether. But it is a really great idea and very very yummy. I will definitely make this again! Also, I served it with sour cream, which was a great complement for this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
I thought this recipe was excellent. A simple idea with lots of flavor. As others suggested, I used both tomatoes and salsa (chunky salsa so it wouldn't be runny), and omitted the 1/4 tomato juice reserve. I also was able to make two of these with the amount of ingredients listed - both in small round casserole dishes using smaller 6-inch tortillas. Will definitely make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Victor, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
My family and I definetly dug this one! Great tast great texture.It seems easily twikable to personal preferance which I like. The meat lovers didn't know they wern't eating meat either. I think next time ill add a some corn and a little diced purple onion. I also think sour cream and cottage cheese would be a delicious addition to make it more of a mexican lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States