Vegetarian Burrito Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I really liked this, but I didn't actually make it as directed, so I can't really rate it accurately. However, most of my changes were simply out of necessity and I don't think would have changed the final taste much. I didn't use rice because I didn't feel like making it and don't usually like it in dishes like this anyway. I used four frozen veggie burgers and chopped them in my food processor. I had leftover bean dip and used that instead of refried beans, and did not have jalapenos, but I did have salsa verde salsa, so I used that as a substitute for both jalapenos and the salsa. Worked well, and my veggie meat hating bf couldn't even tell that was the "meat" in the casserole. I'll make it again, but I would put the salsa in with the pan with the tomatoes because it was hard for me to mix it in during the layering stage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
This was okay. I omitted some of the tomatoes because of the tomatoes and salsa, and I used cubed zucchini and some canned corn instead of the soy crumbles. I didn't have any jalapeños, so I didn't add them either. I think this would be better with just salsa (no tomatoes) and some kidney beans. I may try this again with these modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
this was excellent and pretty fast to prepare...I didn't have any canned tomatoes, so I used 2 fresh, cut in big chunks and then just added chunky salsa to the meat mix(i used frozen turkey sausage) and left out the salsa while layering...served topped with sour cream, black olives and hot sauce...my husband begged for the leftovers for his lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki Manogue Maramonte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
This has become my husbands absolute favorite meal! He asks for it again and again. I think the recipe is perfect as is. It's quick, easy and delicious. It's a wonderful taste of home for me, living in the UK, from California. Thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
Tried this tonight for the first time, and it was really good! I think the beauty of this recipe is that you can use whatever ingredients you have on hand, adjusting it to what your preferences are. This has great flexibility that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
Very Good, but required some alterations. I don't think that the salsa was necessary. The tomatoes took care of that. We also omitted the faux meat and added corn in its place. Used Ancho chili powder and reduced it by half a teaspoon and it was still plenty spicy, but not hot. I also didn't use all the cheese. The casserole was plenty rich enough without it and it made it healthier. Will definately do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SequoiaSkye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bend, Oregon, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
This was so delicious! I varied my just a little bit to make it healthier. I substituted couscous for the rice and used whole wheat flour tortillas. I made it with the refried beans, but also tried whole black beans, and it still tasted delicious. My husband gobbled it up - it's all that matters! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
Used what was on hand.. Brown rice, wheat burrito style tortillas, spicy black bean salsa (nixed the peppers). Loved it and the leftovers are great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen van Buren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Tyngsboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
This was delicious, I can't believe my husband actually liked it. He normally doesn't like anything without REAL meat!! Terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nzingha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lampertheim, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
this was really good and filling. i added a small can or corn too. the leftovers were even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

Quick dinner idea for Cinco de Mayo or any day you are craving Mexican food.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States