Vegetarian Burrito Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 5, 2008
This was a great recipe. I did make a few changes though. I used two layers of corn tortillas instead of flour, I used a large jar of southwest salsa and no additional tomatoes, I also used flavored mexican rice instead of plain. Everyone loved it and it was soooo easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
This is a recipe I will modify and make again and again. A couple of notes. First, either tomatoes OR salsa is sufficient (I used "mexican" seasoned stewed tomatoes - way cheaper than salsa and just as flavorful). Second, next time I will add extra veggies (corn, zucchini, carrots, etc) to the mix. Third, I had a hard time layering! Next time I will mix everything together except the cheese and tortillas - it's a casserole after all :) Finally, I had to use a 9x12 or so baking dish! There's no way that volume of food would fit in an 8x8. Oh, and I used corn tortillas - still unrefined (as is whole wheat) but more flavor and texture. Thanks for a new go-to recipe - this will be a great one for a week's worth of dinners!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
I LOVE this! I have made it about 5 times in the last few weeks. I added more beans, because I love beans, especially refried black bean. I also have done different variations with yellow summer squash, onions, green and red peppers, okra and zucchinni. Its been a huge hit at potlucks and when I have had guests over. I use brown rice and omit the salsa, because I think it might be a little runny with the salsa. I will make this again and again! yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
This was just o.k. It was very filling and it makes a ton. I don't think I will be making this again as I didn't like the flavor that the "meat" gave it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
Of all the complex, gourmet or exotic recipes I have tried from this site, this is the one that my husband likes. It's easy, quick and so good. I kept it pretty much the same. I too put the patty;s in the food processor. Next time I will just crumble them, they were a bit too mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Courtice, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
This recipe was super easy to make and absolutely delicious! Even my husband loved it and he is definitely a meat eater!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I really liked this, but I didn't actually make it as directed, so I can't really rate it accurately. However, most of my changes were simply out of necessity and I don't think would have changed the final taste much. I didn't use rice because I didn't feel like making it and don't usually like it in dishes like this anyway. I used four frozen veggie burgers and chopped them in my food processor. I had leftover bean dip and used that instead of refried beans, and did not have jalapenos, but I did have salsa verde salsa, so I used that as a substitute for both jalapenos and the salsa. Worked well, and my veggie meat hating bf couldn't even tell that was the "meat" in the casserole. I'll make it again, but I would put the salsa in with the pan with the tomatoes because it was hard for me to mix it in during the layering stage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
This was okay. I omitted some of the tomatoes because of the tomatoes and salsa, and I used cubed zucchini and some canned corn instead of the soy crumbles. I didn't have any jalapeños, so I didn't add them either. I think this would be better with just salsa (no tomatoes) and some kidney beans. I may try this again with these modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
this was excellent and pretty fast to prepare...I didn't have any canned tomatoes, so I used 2 fresh, cut in big chunks and then just added chunky salsa to the meat mix(i used frozen turkey sausage) and left out the salsa while layering...served topped with sour cream, black olives and hot sauce...my husband begged for the leftovers for his lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
This has become my husbands absolute favorite meal! He asks for it again and again. I think the recipe is perfect as is. It's quick, easy and delicious. It's a wonderful taste of home for me, living in the UK, from California. Thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States