Vegetarian Burrito Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
This was great, but we did make a couple changes. We left out the salsa, and substituted GrapeNuts cereal for the burger crumbles (sounds weird, but it's great!!) It's a family favorite now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I made this exactly as stated in the recipe and it turned out great. Very tasty and filling. You can eat this comfort food and feel full and satisfied.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
This was very tasty. My husband and my two year old daughter both enjoyed it. I did omit the soy burger crumbles and used brown rice instead of white, but it was delicious regardless. It was quite easy to make, I followed the instructions as stated and it turned out wonderful! Thanks for the recipe, we will definetely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Delicious! As others have said, it will NEVER fit in an 8x8 pan. Go with a bigger dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I tried this recipe over the weekend and it was DELICIOUS! My only suggestion is that when adding the chili pepper, which can be spicy, really SPRINKLE it over the 'meat mixture.' Otherwise, it won't mix well and you'll have spicier bites of the casserole than others. In general, this was easy (my toddlers helped me make it!), fun to make, and really, really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Got rave reviews at my house. Here is what I did differently, though I'm sure the original is great as well. I used 3/4 a bag of soy crumble (not the full bag - used 1/4 to go in some dip). To make the recipe healthier, I used black beans that I drained, microwaved, and mashed instead of re-fried beans. I used brown rice instead of white rice. I also added 1/2 cup of bell peper and 1/4 cup of onion to the soy crumble mixture. Used diced canned tomatoes instead of whole canned tomatoes b/c that's what I had at the house. I also used more 1/2 cup more salsa than indicated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
Excellent! We topped it with sour cream and fresh cilantro. I used brown rice instead of white rice and whole wheat tortillas. Big hit even with the "meat eaters" in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
This was great. Will make again and again, but boyfriend requested that we make this a fall/winter/cold weather day recipe. Used the vegetarian re-fried beans recipe from this site. Both came out excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JADE1977

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
This was a great recipe. I did make a few changes though. I used two layers of corn tortillas instead of flour, I used a large jar of southwest salsa and no additional tomatoes, I also used flavored mexican rice instead of plain. Everyone loved it and it was soooo easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
This is a recipe I will modify and make again and again. A couple of notes. First, either tomatoes OR salsa is sufficient (I used "mexican" seasoned stewed tomatoes - way cheaper than salsa and just as flavorful). Second, next time I will add extra veggies (corn, zucchini, carrots, etc) to the mix. Third, I had a hard time layering! Next time I will mix everything together except the cheese and tortillas - it's a casserole after all :) Finally, I had to use a 9x12 or so baking dish! There's no way that volume of food would fit in an 8x8. Oh, and I used corn tortillas - still unrefined (as is whole wheat) but more flavor and texture. Thanks for a new go-to recipe - this will be a great one for a week's worth of dinners!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States