Vegetarian Burrito Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Good! I simplified mine a bit, though. I mixed the prepared TVP with salsa and spices instead of adding tomatoes and sauteeing, etc. Then I layered everything in a 10 inch springform pan. It definitely needs to bake longer than 20 minutes, though, to heat everything through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Following the advice of others, I used a 9x13 casserole dish. I have a feeling that whomever originally wrote this recipe just made an error when typing the size of the dish. There's NO WAY this would fit in an 8x8 pan. I made a few minor changes...used brown instead of white rice, used 4 tortillas instead of two, used Mexican seasoned veggie crumbles so I omitted the taco seasoning (too much MSG in that stuff anyway), black refried beans with jalapeno (thus no fresh jalapeno). I cooked it for 25 minutes. It was outstanding...my first meal using soy products. I seriously could not tell there was no meat in this dish. Next time I make it, and I will, I'll probably add some corn and black olives. I'll also use a little sour cream when serving with some chopped avocado. I'm a meat lover, and I loved this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Made it a meat lovers casserole and it was good. Great for leftover burrito ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
This is so so good! Everyone loved it! Only changes I made, and it was due to personal tastes was, used whole beans, canned chopped chilies, and ground turkey. I did use a 13 X 9 pan, can't see how it would work in the smaller 8 x 8. I will make this often. It's great for leftovers! i suggest having some lite sour cream on the side with this too. THANK YOU for a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I made this recipe as written except I used refried beans with green chilis instead of jalapenos. My family loved it and found it very filling. Thanks for posting this delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
this one i like very well, and its so easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
This was very good. Though, we are not vegetarian, so it was just easier for me to use ground turkey instead (1 pound). One reviewer wrote that canned tomatoes, plus salsa was overkill, so in place of the huge can of whole tomatoes, I used a 15 ounce can of diced tomatoes which I just dumped in, not bothering to save the 1/4 cup for later. This worked out to be the perfect amount of liquid for my 1 lb. of meat. Also used a larger casserole, which it filled, so do not even attempt the 8x8. Mixed diced jalapeños right in with meat instead of layering. I think sliced black olives on the top layer would have been a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Oh my gosh people, this is a keeper! Make a 9x13 pan of it and just cut slabs off of it for days! Each day in the fridge, it tastes better and better. Absolutely delicious and different. Kind of like a Mexican lasagna. Only changes I made was chopped green chiles instead of jalapenos and I made in a 9X13, just laying the tortillas in the pan and tearing them as I needed to fit the shape of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
OMG THIS WAS AMAZING! I EVEN GOT MY MOM TO EAT IT AND SAID SHE LOVED IT! (I DIDN'T TELL HER IT WAS SOY CRUMBLES).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by interdesignmsu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I made this last week for my mother and my tv night. It turned out great! I added some mushrooms and some roasted peppers. Comfort food at it's best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States