Vegetarian Burrito Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
My apologies but I turned this into NOT a vegetarian recipe. I used ground turkey but flavored it as listed in the recipe. The turkey was super delicious and making it into a casserole was a great twist. It's really more like a flat burrito but the flavor was wonderful. Instead of whole tomatoes in the can, I used crushed tomatoes and hot salsa along with some diced habanero. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Sounds good but leave the rice out of it, use more beans or soy crumbles instead and use corn tortillas instead of flour.-if you must use rice use something other than white rice. Thanks for an other wise healthier mexican favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deirdrejayne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: May 15, 2012
I'll be the first to admit (obviously from my photo) that I didn't make a casserole with this because I was in a hurry and just made regular ole burritos instead of the pie! I did use the veggie crumbles, however, and it was awesome! My jalapeno was, um, kind of gross (coulda sworn it was still good. I was WRONG) so those unfortunately got left out, but the good news is that my husband reacted quite favorably to the veggie crumbles and the meal in general, so this will be making a repeat appearance, hopefully in pie form next time :) Thanks for helping our household wean ourselves off meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Love it, love it, love it! The modifications I made were using brown rice and wheat tortillas. I also used rotfl Mexican tomatoes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Good! I simplified mine a bit, though. I mixed the prepared TVP with salsa and spices instead of adding tomatoes and sauteeing, etc. Then I layered everything in a 10 inch springform pan. It definitely needs to bake longer than 20 minutes, though, to heat everything through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Following the advice of others, I used a 9x13 casserole dish. I have a feeling that whomever originally wrote this recipe just made an error when typing the size of the dish. There's NO WAY this would fit in an 8x8 pan. I made a few minor changes...used brown instead of white rice, used 4 tortillas instead of two, used Mexican seasoned veggie crumbles so I omitted the taco seasoning (too much MSG in that stuff anyway), black refried beans with jalapeno (thus no fresh jalapeno). I cooked it for 25 minutes. It was outstanding...my first meal using soy products. I seriously could not tell there was no meat in this dish. Next time I make it, and I will, I'll probably add some corn and black olives. I'll also use a little sour cream when serving with some chopped avocado. I'm a meat lover, and I loved this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlys Maybonne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Made it a meat lovers casserole and it was good. Great for leftover burrito ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alissa S

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
This is so so good! Everyone loved it! Only changes I made, and it was due to personal tastes was, used whole beans, canned chopped chilies, and ground turkey. I did use a 13 X 9 pan, can't see how it would work in the smaller 8 x 8. I will make this often. It's great for leftovers! i suggest having some lite sour cream on the side with this too. THANK YOU for a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I made this recipe as written except I used refried beans with green chilis instead of jalapenos. My family loved it and found it very filling. Thanks for posting this delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
this one i like very well, and its so easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee Wright

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

Quick dinner idea for Cinco de Mayo or any day you are craving Mexican food.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States