Vegetarian Burrito Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
This is a recipe I will modify and make again and again. A couple of notes. First, either tomatoes OR salsa is sufficient (I used "mexican" seasoned stewed tomatoes - way cheaper than salsa and just as flavorful). Second, next time I will add extra veggies (corn, zucchini, carrots, etc) to the mix. Third, I had a hard time layering! Next time I will mix everything together except the cheese and tortillas - it's a casserole after all :) Finally, I had to use a 9x12 or so baking dish! There's no way that volume of food would fit in an 8x8. Oh, and I used corn tortillas - still unrefined (as is whole wheat) but more flavor and texture. Thanks for a new go-to recipe - this will be a great one for a week's worth of dinners!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
This is a great casserole. Our friends, veggies and carnivores, both like this one. I made a couple of changes of my own to it. I added more veggies, such as corn, peppers, and onions. I also used corn tortillas instead of flour out of personal preference. Delicious, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Oh my gosh people, this is a keeper! Make a 9x13 pan of it and just cut slabs off of it for days! Each day in the fridge, it tastes better and better. Absolutely delicious and different. Kind of like a Mexican lasagna. Only changes I made was chopped green chiles instead of jalapenos and I made in a 9X13, just laying the tortillas in the pan and tearing them as I needed to fit the shape of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
This is a great recipe for adapting - we've made it many times. It's entirely too much for an 8x8 though, that wastes ingredients. We make it in a 13x9 like this: First lay down 2 tortillas, side by side. Cover in refried beans. We use a small can of green chiles instead of jalapenos out of personal preference. Layer the rest of the ingredients in any order: peppers, rice, all of the TVP mixture, salsa, & cheese. Top with 2 more tortillas, remaining refried beans, some salsa, we add diced onion here, & the remaining cheese. We serve with Mexicorn on the side, would be great in the dish as well, maybe with some black beans as well. Top with sour cream, corn on the side. It's really impossible to mess this dish up, so change it up to what suits your needs & it will most likely still be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brianna Woody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
Very tasty dish. Makes a great "make ahead" dish - bake when ready to eat. I used a few variations - delicious either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
Used what was on hand.. Brown rice, wheat burrito style tortillas, spicy black bean salsa (nixed the peppers). Loved it and the leftovers are great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Tyngsboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
This was very good. Though, we are not vegetarian, so it was just easier for me to use ground turkey instead (1 pound). One reviewer wrote that canned tomatoes, plus salsa was overkill, so in place of the huge can of whole tomatoes, I used a 15 ounce can of diced tomatoes which I just dumped in, not bothering to save the 1/4 cup for later. This worked out to be the perfect amount of liquid for my 1 lb. of meat. Also used a larger casserole, which it filled, so do not even attempt the 8x8. Mixed diced jalapeños right in with meat instead of layering. I think sliced black olives on the top layer would have been a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Didn't enjoy this recipe as much as others did; thought the flavors to be a bit boring, but might be good w substitutions. Makes a TON of food, so use a 9x13 if you try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennafir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
We love this recipe. I found it is very easy to just throw everything except the refried beans, cheese, and tortillas in a rice cooker. I let it all cook, then layer. Very easy and very fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Yummy Yummy Yummy! I really enjoyed this for dinner. I changed things to match what I had on hand. I used about a cup of instant brown rice. I left out the soy burger-style crumbles just because I have no interest in trying them. I cooked the veg. refried beans in a saucepan with a 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes with jalapenos with none of the juices drained out. I added in my own taco seasoning instead of a packet. I used 4 fresh jalapenos and 1/4 of an onion that I threw in the pan with the beans and tomatoes. I also threw the salsa in the with the beans and the rice once it was cooked, so I wouldn't have to do so much layering. I did a whole wheat tortilla then bean mixture and cheese, another tortilla bean mixture and cheese, then another tortilla and topped that with the rest of the cheese. I think this cooked 40 minutes altogether and I only let it rest 5 before I cut it ( I was too hungry to wait anymore! ) Will make again, thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States