Vegetarian Burrito Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I don't even know how appropriate it is for me to review this since I changed so much...I used tofu instead of soy crumbles, brown rice instead of white, added green onions and peppers since I had them around I dropped the salsa and jalapenos altogether. But it is a really great idea and very very yummy. I will definitely make this again! Also, I served it with sour cream, which was a great complement for this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
I thought this recipe was excellent. A simple idea with lots of flavor. As others suggested, I used both tomatoes and salsa (chunky salsa so it wouldn't be runny), and omitted the 1/4 tomato juice reserve. I also was able to make two of these with the amount of ingredients listed - both in small round casserole dishes using smaller 6-inch tortillas. Will definitely make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Victor, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
My family and I definetly dug this one! Great tast great texture.It seems easily twikable to personal preferance which I like. The meat lovers didn't know they wern't eating meat either. I think next time ill add a some corn and a little diced purple onion. I also think sour cream and cottage cheese would be a delicious addition to make it more of a mexican lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I made this in the 8 X 8 pan and cut into eighths like a pizza, so they were served as triangles which presents nicely. I love this recipe, it's easy and delish and reheats wonderfully. My only complaint is that the sodium level is quite high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiesmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Oak Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
This was great, but we did make a couple changes. We left out the salsa, and substituted GrapeNuts cereal for the burger crumbles (sounds weird, but it's great!!) It's a family favorite now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I made this exactly as stated in the recipe and it turned out great. Very tasty and filling. You can eat this comfort food and feel full and satisfied.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
This was very tasty. My husband and my two year old daughter both enjoyed it. I did omit the soy burger crumbles and used brown rice instead of white, but it was delicious regardless. It was quite easy to make, I followed the instructions as stated and it turned out wonderful! Thanks for the recipe, we will definetely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Delicious! As others have said, it will NEVER fit in an 8x8 pan. Go with a bigger dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I tried this recipe over the weekend and it was DELICIOUS! My only suggestion is that when adding the chili pepper, which can be spicy, really SPRINKLE it over the 'meat mixture.' Otherwise, it won't mix well and you'll have spicier bites of the casserole than others. In general, this was easy (my toddlers helped me make it!), fun to make, and really, really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

Quick and easy dinner idea for Cinco de Mayo or any day you are craving Mexican f

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States